Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Brown Rice and Barley Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Barley

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2009

      Thank you, Sharon 123, for this recipe; it was a good mix! I upped the barley to a cup and reduced the brown rice to 1.5 cups to add even more of barley's health properties. This mixture turns out fluffy and way better than the sum of its parts. Thanks also to -Rita- for the suggestion of adding onion and a bit of olive oil at the beginning, which I did do. If anyone can find it, try Better Than Boullion if you don't have stock on hand--it makes for a tasty base.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Very nice! I used beef broth and it added a nice richness. I would eat this with just some chicken and green onions in it! You asked for short or medium grain brown rice, but I had long grain and it worked just fine. I am freezing this in 12 x 1/2 cup portions for my DFIL to add to his meals. Made for Football Tag, week 5. Thanks Sharon123! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I love barley and brown rice. So I knew I couldn't go wrong with this recipe. I sauteed a small chopped onion in olive oil then added the rice and barley to coat with oil. added water and walla. A delish side. Thanks Sharon for a healthy yummy side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2014

      Made half a recipe to use in veggie burgers. Easier than I thought.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      I have been trying to slowly change some of my family's eating habits to healthier alternatives and I think this one will stick! I used one can of chicken broth and added enough water to make the 3.5 cups. My little ones won't eat rice, but they decided this was like oatmeal and they were willing to eat it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      Simple and easy! The leftovers were eaten the next day for breakfast with milk, raisins, cinnamon, brown sugar, etc. Great combination! Reviewed for Sharon123's Cookathon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Great. Made with chicken broth. So much healthier than white rice and delicious. Kids loved it too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      I was very happy with how this turned out, perfect texture. I used chicken broth. I think next time I'll try half and half barley vs brown rice. Thanks Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Barley

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.1
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    27%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes