11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

a delicous recipe using two of my favorites...broccoli and artichokes. I used a 14 oz can of non-marinated artichoke hearts, squeezed and cut in half. the ingredient list said juice of one lime and the instructions said add lemon juice. I used juice of 1 lemon. was a perfect side dish to my grilled swordfish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxO'Wine February 18, 2003

Very good. I substituted onions for garlic and pan roasted the broccoli instead of steaming it. DH gobbled it up. I found the amount of lemon (Iused a mix of lemon and lime) to be just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alvinakatz February 22, 2012

This was quick and easy, adding nice flavor to the broccoli from the artichoke hearts, garlic and pepper flakes. I cooked the broccoli in the microwave.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue June 06, 2010

As far as veggie recipes go...this is easily 5 stars! I followed this and used lemon. I also rinsed the artichoke hearts to get rid of some of the oil. Wonderful! Steamed the broccoli in the same pan I cooked in and just drained and set aside. Yummy! Paired it with grilled wasabi tuna and garlic penne pasta. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl July 03, 2009

This was a tasty new way to make broccoli with ingredients that I always have on hand! I steamed broccoli in micro & then followed recipe as written. The only thing I added was a bit of the strained juice from the artichokes with the lemon in the last step... why waste all that flavor? Thanks, Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janni402 February 15, 2009

This is our new favorite way to eat broccoli. I steamed the broccoli longer for DH's preference, but otherwise followed to the letter and it's wonderful. I rinsed the artichokes a lot so it was perfect for our low-fat diet. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisabetta47 February 03, 2009

Delicious and simple! Served it for Christmas dinner and it went over well. I actually added a little lemon zest because I think garlic and lemon go so well with broccoli and with artichokes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja December 26, 2008

I enjoyed this combination of two of my faveorite veggies. The person that used the word 'zesty' had it right. I decided to go with the lime and I think the only thing I would do next time is to use a little bit less of it. Made for PhotoTag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne April 12, 2008

Served this at a family dinner and it was finished off. I used more garlic and a 7 oz jar of marinated artichokes (no 1 oz jars available). I decreased the amount of hot pepper flakes as most of us can't tolerate spicy food but couldn't even taste them. The lime juice was overpowering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky December 17, 2003

Delicious and quick side dish! These are two of my favorite vegetables, and I most always have them on hand. I did add more than just a "pinch" of crushed red pepper, but I like a little more spice. I also used juice of 1/2 a lemon, as I did not have limes on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kozmic Blues September 16, 2003
Broccoli With Artichoke Hearts