Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Bread Machine Light Rye Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bread Machine Light Rye

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2008

      Used regular all purpose flour plus a tablespoon of vital wheat gluten. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Good strong rye flavor, yet a light bread. Made for ZWT4. Just a tip if you don't have any flat beer--if you heat your beer to a simmer and let it cool, it will be flat--faster than just leaving it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Made for ZWT4 Beverage Challenge - Bier ist Nahrung .I am so glad I tried this bread. Added 4 tbsp flax seeds, and 4 tbsp sunflowerseed, both because I like the taste and texture of that, but also because it makes it better for you. Great recipe. Love this bread toasted with sharp cheddar.Thanks Mary.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      Nice and light, but full of flavor. Made pretty much as directed. Thanks for the tip on heating the beer if you don't have flat beer. Made for ZWT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      I found that this was quite sweet and the caraway came through quite strong but it was a tasty bread especially spread with a sinful amount of soy buttery spread :) Very simple and a great introduction to making my own rye bread! Made for ZWT 7 (The Hot Pink Ladies)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Delicious! I think the sweetness from the brown sugar and molasses really make this a tasty rye bread. Good rye flavor, too. Mine didn't rise too much, it turned out more like a square without the rounded top. I subbed butter for the Crisco, and that may have been the reason. I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      Great bread and easy to make. I also subbed butter for the Crisco. Loved the beer flavor in this and we love caraway, so I may up the amount on that next time. Great with a bowl of soup. Made for ZWT 7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      Wonderful rye bread!! I added 4 Tblp. of caraway, used butter instead of Crisco, and used the dough cycle on the bread machine. I baked it at 350* for 30 minutes. Thanks for sharing this true keeper. Made for ZWT7-Antarctica Challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Comments around the table: "This is the perfect rye bread." "I'd have a reuben on this bread any day." My comment? Pretty darn nummy!! Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Nice, light and flavorful!I used 1 tablespoon of vital gluten, 1 tablespoon each of caraway and black caraway seeds, subbed butter for the shortening. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Great recipe. I make my own beer and I had some flat beer in a canning jar already that I had saved for cooking . I was surprised to find a bread calling for it. I did everything just as printed (except that I didn't have any caraway seed) It is wonderful either plain or toasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      This turned out really well- considering how much I fiddled with the amounts to fit in our bread machine (I think maybe yours is smaller). I also used whole wheat flour, which made it fairly dense, but rye bread usually is dense as far as I know- and it tastes great. I really enjoyed it for lunch with hummus and tomato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bread Machine Light Rye

    Serving Size: 1 (774 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1900.5
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    95%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1210.1 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 385.7 g
    128%
    Dietary Fiber 25.3 g
    101%
    Sugars 50.9 g
    203%
    Protein 49.9 g
    99%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites