Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Bread Machine French Style Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bread Machine French Style Bread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2007

      Great bread, crispy outside chewy inside, excellent flavor and texture. I also used the dough cycle then let it rise for about another 1 on top of the warm stove. After baking it I cut 6 deep slits in the loaf, spread garlic butter inside the slits then stuffed with cheese and baked for another 15 minutes. YUMMY! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      We loved this bread! It had a nice crisp crust and soft center. One of the best loaves we've had fixed entirely in the bread machine!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      I made the dough in the Kitchenaid mixer, and then baked in oven, it came out high and chewy great tasting bread. I will be making this again when we have homemade soup definitly. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      This bread is fantastic!! I used bread flour which made it nice and chewy. Also, I used my bread machine "dough" cycle and finished the shaping and final rising on a pizza stone. I baked it on the stone, in the oven for 25 min. The end result...a golden brown, chewy and delicious loaf. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. It is definitely a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      Delicious loaf..I made Tortilla Soup and served warm slices of this to go with it, my family really enjoyed it. The French setting on my machine is 3 hrs and 50 minutes. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      We really enjoyed this bread. I made it up in the bread machine, then took it out and put on a baking pan for the final rise. I had a pretty, crusty loaf of bread that was just perfect for slicing and grilling. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      This is my go to bread recipe. It works perfectly every time. Simple bread with simple ingredients and very cost effective. My kids and husband love it. Crispy on the outside and soft white bread on the inside. I have no complaints about this bread whatsoever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      This is a Winner! Been experimenting with making Brown & Serve breads. This recipe is perfect. I used the bread machine to make the dough, took it out, formed it into 2 slim baguettes. Baked until just barely colored, cooled on a rack. Wrapped in plastic wrap and placed in ziplock bag. Froze for about a week. Thawed and baked at 350 until nicely browned. Very crusty, very tasty. Chefie, thanks for the recipe; it worked perfectly,. I'll be using this a lot . . . Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      It was the BEST bread I have ever tasted!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      The BEST french bread recipe!! I used a Breadman Plus machine and set it for a 1 1/2 lb french bread loaf. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      I just made this and it was delicious! My bread machine doesn't have a setting like the one you mentioned, so I set it to "medium" and pressed start. This may be useful for anyone with the bread machine brand "Welbilt" or any other bread machine like it. Thank you so much for posting this recipe, it was easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This is the first loaf EVER that I've made in the bread machine that didn't fall!! Thank you for this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      I baked this in the bread machine and think it might have been better had I just used the dough cycle and baked in the oven. Nice, basic French bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      Great recipe! Simple to throw together in the bread machine. Took mine out after the dough cycle was complete- shaped it into a loaf and let it rise for about an hour. Could have even let it rise longer. Baked it for about 25 minutes. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      DH made this bread and is now quite chuffed with himself, and as well he should be. it turned out beautifully. he only used the dough cycle of our machine. afterwards he rolled it out into a rectangle, rolled it up the long end, shaped it, brushed with olive oil and then let rise a for an hour. when it doubled, he applied an eggwash and sesame seeds and baked it for 25min at 400F. i have to mention that i have previously baked this bread in the ABM myself, and would definitely recommend using the ABM only for the dough cycle and then finishing it off the in oven. the results are far superior this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      This was AWESOME, I ate 4 pieces in one sitting, I could not stop it was so good!!! Thanks!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      Totally outstanding French Style Bread! Its great! I just took the bread out of the machine and had to have a taste. It was fantastic with a slice of butter to melt over it. YUM! Very easy instructions too. I normally use bread flour for my bread machine recipes but I fellowed this recipe and used all purpose flour. I found out its just a good as using the other for this type of bread. Thanks for sharing this great bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      Great bread! I also prepared the dough in the machine, added a good tablespoon of caraway seeds at the bliep and baked it in the oven for 25 minutes at 350F.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      This bread had a great texture, and was delicious with the potato soup I made tonight! I prepared the dough in the bread machine, then punched it down on a floured board, letting it rise a second time in a bread pan. I baked it for about 20 minutes at 350F. It rose well, and sliced easily. Everyone loved it, and I'll be making it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2004

      My family loved this bread. I don't think we'll be buying the French loaves at the grocery store anymore!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bread Machine French Style Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (781 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1736.7
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    56%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2928.0 mg
    122%
    Total Carbohydrate 364.8 g
    121%
    Dietary Fiber 13.9 g
    55%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 49.7 g
    99%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites