22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great bread, crispy outside chewy inside, excellent flavor and texture. I also used the dough cycle then let it rise for about another 1 on top of the warm stove. After baking it I cut 6 deep slits in the loaf, spread garlic butter inside the slits then stuffed with cheese and baked for another 15 minutes. YUMMY! Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec January 22, 2007

We loved this bread! It had a nice crisp crust and soft center. One of the best loaves we've had fixed entirely in the bread machine!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover March 18, 2012

I made the dough in the Kitchenaid mixer, and then baked in oven, it came out high and chewy great tasting bread. I will be making this again when we have homemade soup definitly. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andypandy September 24, 2006

This bread is fantastic!! I used bread flour which made it nice and chewy. Also, I used my bread machine "dough" cycle and finished the shaping and final rising on a pizza stone. I baked it on the stone, in the oven for 25 min. The end result...a golden brown, chewy and delicious loaf. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. It is definitely a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill January 13, 2006

Delicious loaf..I made Tortilla Soup and served warm slices of this to go with it, my family really enjoyed it. The French setting on my machine is 3 hrs and 50 minutes. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* May 22, 2005

We really enjoyed this bread. I made it up in the bread machine, then took it out and put on a baking pan for the final rise. I had a pretty, crusty loaf of bread that was just perfect for slicing and grilling. Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen April 05, 2004

This is my go to bread recipe. It works perfectly every time. Simple bread with simple ingredients and very cost effective. My kids and husband love it. Crispy on the outside and soft white bread on the inside. I have no complaints about this bread whatsoever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Artefactfinder July 02, 2012

This is a Winner! Been experimenting with making Brown & Serve breads. This recipe is perfect. I used the bread machine to make the dough, took it out, formed it into 2 slim baguettes. Baked until just barely colored, cooled on a rack. Wrapped in plastic wrap and placed in ziplock bag. Froze for about a week. Thawed and baked at 350 until nicely browned. Very crusty, very tasty. Chefie, thanks for the recipe; it worked perfectly,. I'll be using this a lot . . . Janet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski February 08, 2011

It was the BEST bread I have ever tasted!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef BBB January 24, 2011

The BEST french bread recipe!! I used a Breadman Plus machine and set it for a 1 1/2 lb french bread loaf. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessica.gary December 13, 2009
Bread Machine French Style Bread