8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used Both Figs and Rasins. I used Honey Dijon Salad dressing instead of Dijon mustard. I used Light Soy Sauce. This was extremely easy to make, and smelled wonderful while baking. This bread is fantastic!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Xtal April 16, 2002

Excellent bread for ham sandwiches.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L DJ September 30, 2002

Very tasty and moist! I used the raisins and pretty much the loaf was eaten with a little butter the same day!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 January 20, 2004

The recipe sounded interesting and I made it this morning following the directions exactly. The loaf had a great texture and cut well.... but I did not care for the soy sauce flavor at all. If I make it again, I will leave the soy sauce out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna August 30, 2008

This bread is great! We loved it with our tuna salad sandwiches! I followed the directions and my loaf turned out perfectly. We also love that it is fat free, dairy free and sugar free!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vincent Van Ravis February 25, 2008

I am sorry to say I did not like this. The cloves and soy sauce were too strong, and the texture was not very soft either. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa March 14, 2006

This is a wonderful brown bread but it is what we call in New England "Canadian Brown Bread." This just isnt Boston Brown Bread. I love Canadian Brown and found this to be so much better than what I could pruchase! A winner and a keeper! Thank you for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hajar Elizabeth November 11, 2005

I've never had Boston Brown bread but I do know this was EXCELLENT!!! I used raisins, regular Dijon mustard, regular soy sauce, and skipped the cloves bc we don't like them. This smelled great while baking. It is wonderful buttered or as a sandwich bread. Mmmmmmm!!! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steph_40135 September 20, 2004
Boston Brown Bread for Bread Machines(1.5 Pounds)