47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The method described in this recipe is called Low Temperature Pasteurization. According to the NCHFP's current guidelines, it results in a better product texture, but must be carefully managed to avoid possible spoilage. According to their directions, place jars in a canner filled half way with warm (120º to 140º F) water. Then, add hot water to a level 1 inch above jars. Heat the water enough to maintain 180º to 185º F water temperature for 30 minutes. Check with a candy or jelly thermometer to be certain that the water temperature is at least 180ºF during the entire 30 minutes. Temperatures higher than 185ºF may cause unnecessary softening of pickles. http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_06/low_temp_pasteur.html

For optimum shelf-stable safety of any fresh-pack dill pickles, the jars should be processed in a boiling water bath covered by at least an inch of water. Ten minutes for pints and 15 minutes for quarts. http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_06/quick_dill_pickles.html

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 March 21, 2011

I made these this summer and just opened them this weekend. My kids ate 3 jars over the weekend. I used freeze dried dill and the garlic that is in a jar and already chopped up. To make sure they stayed crisp I soaked them in ice and picking salt for a couple of hours before putting them in a jar. They have an awesome crunch.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
891756 October 26, 2009

WOW! This was a great recipe! I was worried because my pickles were soggy at first-I couldn't wait and wait you should, because by Thanksgiving, my whole pickles were so crunchy, fabulous! My cut up pickles were fine, just not as crunchy as the whole pickles..may need a little more time. I am only giving it 4 stars because of the canning instructions..I ditched them and followed the latest instructions for canning from Ball/USDA..they work and they're safe. I will add more dill as I like them super dilly next time. The exciting thing for me is that, thanks to you, I am so looking forward to next year's batch! Many, Many Thanks!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qb2family December 13, 2009

While this method may produce crisp pickles it is NOT a safe method of canning. To can properly you have to have at least an inch of water ABOVE the jar lids and the water has to be at a slow boil for processing.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flourgirl51 August 26, 2009

IMHO, the USDA is a bureaucratic, paper creating group of self-interested individuals. They must make and revise regulations continuously or look for other work. A thousand Americans died one year from (suspected) %u201Ccontaminated jerky product.%u201D Now we are all instructed to add nitrites when making this at home and it must be cooked. This of course applies to commercial producers adding cost. More people are hit by lightening so don%u2019t play golf. My point is that the method specified in the recipe has served us well for many years. Any possibility of spoilage would be greatly reduced, if not eliminated by the salt and vinegar content.
This is a wonderful process and the tip to refrigerate the cukes in salt water adds that extra crunch. Good job Debber!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Colin May 20, 2012

This was my first time canning, and it was so much fun! I quartered my pickles, used about 1 1/2 teaspoons of dried dill in each jar, 1 teaspoon of mustard seed in each jar, and a whole garlic glove. One jar did not seal, so that is what we have tasted. Very good! Next time, I would like to use fresh dill, a little less garlic, and maybe add some peppercorns, as another person suggested. Thanks!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth Brady. December 20, 2009

Great recipe! My first time pickling or canning anything, and they came out perfectly! We had to force ourselves to wait at least 2 weeks. Had no idea how to do the canning thing, so I'm glad the directions were pretty good. Made half exactly to recipe, added jalapeno slices, mustard seed, 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes to each of the rest of the jars. These are the ones my husband liked the best! Had to go out and get more pickling cukes to make more!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurann October 24, 2010

These pickles are delicious. My family loves these. I add two or three tiny hot red chile peppers to the bottom of the jar, along with the dill & garlic. This does not create a hot pickle, just adds some additional flavor and it looks beautiful!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ccasharon July 22, 2008

No question about it, this is a Blue Ribbon recipe for sure! We just tasted some from my first batch made two weeks ago. In one day three quarts were downed! I just made batch number 2 - this time using three Ball Wide Mouth half gallon jars (I uploaded a pic of the three jars - there's a lemon cuke in one of them, can't wait to try that, I heard they make great crispy pickles).

Incidentally, just for reference, there was more than enough brine from this recipe to fill three half gallon jars packed with cukes, with enough left over to probably fill another quart.

THANK YOU FOR SHARING DEBBER!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdlawrence August 15, 2011

Excellent recipe. Best dill pickles I ever had. Used first time july 09, will double the amount in 2010. My 9 yr old grandson will help me can the 2010 batch. Thanks for sharing

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fidel April 10, 2010
Blue Ribbon Dill Pickles