Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Black & White Vegetarian Chipotle Chili (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black & White Vegetarian Chipotle Chili (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2011

      Always a treat to come home and have dinner ready...this is a great chili recipe to add to my arsenal, and takes less work than some of my other favorites!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      I tried this yesterday and cut down on the amount of spice-i added one tablespoon of chili powder and one chipotle chili only, as i was not sure how spicy it would be. The chipoltle chili was from a can in adobe sauce as i could not get any dried, i don't know if a dried one would have given a different flavour? I enjoyed it, but could handle some more spice, but not sure my hubby would agree! It was tasty and there was lots of liquid. I am just getting used to my slow cooker, and i have noticed that the last few things i have cooked sem to have an aftertaste of sorts.Anyway, i would definately try this again, thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      I have been wanting to try this and finally got around to it today. The tomatoes didn't cook into a broth like they did for one member, rather, it got very thick as it cooked. I used cannelini beans for the navy beans, but other than that, everything was the same. I didn't really care for the taste as far as a meal goes, but I think it might be good on a hotdog as a chili condiment. Thanks for the recipe, always nice to try something new.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This is really good! Too spicy for my kids, though, and I only added one teaspoon of the chili powder. I also made it with red and white kidney beans instead black and navy since that's what I had. Served it with polenta and string beans... Will definitely make again, but maybe a little less spicy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      I used kidney beans instead of navy beans. This was delish - except next time I will tone down the chili powder by about half.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Delicious! Good with kidney beans, as well. I added 3-4 times the chipotle (and threw a bit of the adobo sauce in there) the second time to give it a bit more of a kick. Garnished with a little light sour cream and some grated Monterey jack, served with jalapeno cornbread. Yum. Meat lovers thought it was yummy, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      This is IT! Unbelievably rich. I can't imagine a better chili. This is just perfect in a word. Used cooked dry beans and let it cook on low for the full 10 hours which I think is absolutely worth it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This was amazing. I only made a few adjustments due to what I had available at the time. I switched hot chili beans for the navy beans. I couldn't find a chipotle pepper so used a dried red pepper and added a couple dashes of chipotle hot sauce. This is a pretty spicy chili but not too hot that you can't eat it. LOVE IT!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Excellent! We added ground beef at the end and topped our bowls with monterey jack - delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

    • on July 24, 2012

      I made this exactly according to the recipe and it was so bitter than 1 taste was enough. I have added more bean, corn, rice, sugar, soda, lemon juice, and am now cooking pasta to add to it. It's better, now a goulash, but still nothing I would want to make again. Thank goodness I tried this before preparing to serve it to others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      Excellent chili dish that my vegetarian daughter loved. It is simple to make with lots of flavour. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      Great recipe if you like chili with heat. My DF loved it, but I could not finish it because it was too hot even with saltines. If I make this again I will definitely cut down on the chili and paprika powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      Very good and easy too! I was worried this would be too spicy so used only 1 T chili powder and skipped the chipotle -- I wish I used it because I thought it needed something. I was wondering about adding some frozen corn and the chipotle and the whole amount of chili powder next time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

    • on January 16, 2008

      Good stuff! This had a nice amount of spice...definitely spicy, but not painful to eat. :) I used a little more than a tsp. of chipotle, and I left out the dried cilantro, otherwise I followed the recipe closely. I'll be making this again, I'm sure. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      We loved this. A versatile vegan recipe (meat is easily added if wanted) that is SIMPLE! At first I was concerned that it was too thick (no broth or water), but as it cooked - only about 4 hours - the tomatoes softened and became a broth. It had a subtle heat and everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe and used Kidney Beans instead of Navy just because of what I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      I make this regularly for potlucks and always get compliments on it -- usually folks say it's plenty spicy but not TOO spicy, just right! And it couldn't be easier. Even people who don't know it's vegan like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      This was perfect. Super easy, super delicious. Both daughters loved it saying it was 'spicy but not too hot'. YAY! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      This was a great recipe. VERY EASY! I used pinto and kidney beans instead based on personal preference. I thought this recipe was perfectly spicy! Thanks kburie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black & White Vegetarian Chipotle Chili (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (440 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.7
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    19%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 739.0 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.9 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 21.9 g
    87%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 18.7 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites