Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Black Beans Por Cortesía Leslie With Lime and Cumin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Beans Por Cortesía Leslie With Lime and Cumin

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2013

      Excellent black beans! I made this exactly as the recipe is written. The fresh lime juice and cilantro add terrific, fresh flavor. I served this as a side dish, but I could easily eat this over rice for a main dish. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I followed the recipe for the most part. The onion, garlic and cumin got a little dry as did the beans. I added a little bit of water as I go along to make sure I did not burn them. I added the juice of a large lime and that was wonderful. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      This was fantastic in vegetarian tacos, but was also great plain, so would make a nice side dish as well. It is quick and easy too. I doubled the garlic and didn't measure the lime, but used a whole one. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      ZWT4: I used fresh cilantro in this bean dish! It was tasty!! We served it along with a rice side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I quickly started making this recipe and after adding all the ingredients, I realized I missed one thing- I forgot to cook it! I didn't read the directions so I just added all the ingredients into a bowl thinking I was making a bean salad/salsa. I ended up adding some red pepper, mango and a touch of honey and served it with some chips and it was gone in no time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      I enjoyed these mixed up in a tortilla with some coconut rice I made for the African region. However, on their own I found them perhaps a bit too dry. I am not sure if maybe the black beans I can find over here in the UK are a bit different than 'normal' but they needed some moisture for me but I did enjoy the flavor and will make them again as a base recipe and see what I can do to give them a bit more juice, so to speak. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Used this recipe to make tostadas. I only made 1/2 of a recipe, wish I had made the whole thing. Enjoyed the fresh flavors and the lime is a great addition. Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      This was really good. My family ate it well, but I'm not sure it would have been so good without being mixed with the Mexican rice we cooked. We did enjoy it though and will probably try it again sometime. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Mui delicioso. Prepared this as part of ZWT3 and delighted that the contest led me to this terrific dish. Not only was it very easy to prepare the flavors are fresh and bright and made a great side for dinner and vegetarian entree for lunch the day after. Wouldn't change a thing here. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      These were soooo good Potsie! I thought I had black beans, but alas they disguised themselves as pintos! But great anyway. I'm gonna be making these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Great job Potsie! Very easy and delicious! I love the cool flavor of the lime with the cumin. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Another great Potsie recipe! I made this for the kids and I for lunch today (have I mentioned that I am getting thoroughly sick of cooking? lol). We had this lovely vegetarian dish with shredded cheddar cheese and my homemade Spicy Sweet Peach Salsa (shameless plug; I know) and will be having the leftovers with dinner tonight. Thanks Potsie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      I enjoyed the creaminess of the beans, the freshness of the garden fresh cilantro gave it a nice herbal note and lime zest and juice gave this an extra zing in addition to the cumin and 4 cloves garlic awakened my taste budsfor a nice healthy side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      Wow, nice:D I made half the recipe, but encourage you to make all of it. Serves 4 better than six; my BF and I ate half the recipe and wanted more. I suggest a little additional cumin and lime juice/rind. I added more of the latter. This is designed to be a dry type of bean recipe, and we didn't miss the sauce in the least. We also added the recommended fresh cilantro, which was not overpowering. I put this into the recipe class of "the whole is much better than the sum of its parts." Thanks Potsie dear (and Leslie), we both really enjoyed this and will be making again:D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Beans Por Cortesía Leslie With Lime and Cumin

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.4
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    13%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    46%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes