Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Black Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Beans

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2002

      This is perhaps the easiest recipe I have tried for black beans. I made this with no deviations from the recipe. The combination of spices and flavors is just perfect. The beans were great served in flour tortillas with cheese, sour cream, salsa and the works! I'll definitely make this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2003

      Becky, this recipe is great and was my first introduction to these yummy beans. I did a quick soak first, as I was short of time (brought water to the boil, turned heat off and let it sit for an hour) and then put everything together and let it simmer 2 hours, by which time the beans were tender. I also doubled the recipe and stored the remainder in the freezer (but they didn't stay there long!). I'll be cooking up another batch this weekend. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      This was just what I was looking for! Thanks, it goes in my cookbook, the perfect recipe for dried black beans. Ready for that special recipe. Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      This was a very good recipe. I was having a little party so I quadrupled (!!!) the recipe. The beans were a big hit with the group - especially with my vegetarian friend. Since the recipe was quadrupled, I had to cook the beans a lot longer than one hour (the beans soaked for more than 6 hours) but the results were well worth it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      Fairly good, although I think I undercooked mine a bit and put a smidge too much cayenne though this isn't the fault of the recipe! They were spicy but bland if that makes any sense! Probably would've been better if I had cooked them longer. Will try again sometime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This was great! I didn't have any green peppers but made it otherwise as written. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      These are really great black beans. I usually just cook mine with garlic and onion and I was looking for another spice variation to change things up a bit. This combination worked well with my stuffed peppers...yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Excellent! I'm trying to stretch my food budget, so I decided to make these beans instead of buying the canned variety. I followed the recipe to the letter and was very pleased with the results. Nicely seasoned, and the pinch of cayenne pepper gave it a little extra kick. I'll be making these again very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Just enough spice to make it very yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      This had the perfect flavor we were looking for. I left out the onion and bell pepper, and used a hand blender just enough to leave some beans partially intact. I don't think I will ever buy canned black beans again. Thank you for posting, this will be used frequently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      Not a winner at my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      This is an excellent recipe. I can't believe how good the beans were. They taste great with everything. Rice, turkey tacos, EVERYTHING. I will never used canned again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      This is a really great recipe for black beans. I usually triple the recipe and then freeze for later use - they freeze well. I use 1 chili pepper, sliced thin in place of the powdered cayenne pepper and add 2 packets of Sazon Goya Cilantro Tomato seasoning to the mix. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2004

      Fantastic use for dried beans. We did the quick soak. Tasty with a hint of heat: just the way we like them! We used them as a side with our Mexican meal and they were perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Black Beans Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (434 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.8
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    98%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 267.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.4 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 15.2 g
    60%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 19.9 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes