Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Black-Bean-Pizza-Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black-Bean-Pizza-Dough Recipe

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2002

      This is a fantastic pizza dough. It is easy to make, with ingridents that are on hand. The dough was a little sticky, and had to adjust the amount of water, but it all worked out in the end. Once I rolled out the dough, I grilled it on my grill top pan ( the kind that covers two burners). I roasted onions, jalapenos, and tomatoes. Once one side of the crust was done, I flipped it, added the roasted vegetables, black beans, corn, and mozerello cheese. Absolutly incredible!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2013

      I absolutely despise black beans...BUT this pizza crust is magnificent!!! I let mine sit overnight and it turned out more chewy than I like, but it was still very good. The toppings I chose were: zucchini (1/4 sliced), red onion (thinly sliced rings), black olives and tomato paste for the sauce. It was a HUGE hit at work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2012

      IT is a good crust, but one would expect something special from the black beans. It was rare for me to notice them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      This was really good and the dough was soft and easy to work with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      Easy, fast. I had friends over who were extremely grossed out at the prospect of a beany pizza but ended up loving this, the texture is nice! However don't expect it to be super flavorful, unless you go crazy on the cayenne pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This was very easy and my family liked it. My husband even liked it (and he knew there were black beans in it... he hates when I make "weird" things... but he really liked this) I will be using this as my new pizza dough. Thanks for a yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      This dough is amazing, and I'd highly recommend it! I had never made homemade dough OR used a pizza stone before, and this recipe made it very easy! No part of the crust burned or even blackened in the oven, and yet it all turned out perfectly crisp. The cayenne pepper really does add some taste and kick to the dough, which imagine might be otherwise a bit bland. I think I might experiment with adding some other spices to the dough; it seems like you can kind of play it by ear there. I did add more water to the dough (like some of the other reviewers had mentioned), and it definitely helped get the dough to a point where I could roll it out. I took the rest of my black beans, pureed them, rolled them in some spices and bread crumbs, and then used my excess flour and an egg to flour and fry them into little pieces that looked JUST like hamburger - tasted great as a topping, too! For other toppings I cut up whatever extra veggies I had laying around - I honestly think you could put just about anything on this dough - and used some great pizza sauce. It was amazing! I have had multiple requests from friends to make the pizza again and I am about to make two more right now. Definitely easy, definitely great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      Great pizza dough topped w/ corn, beans, tomatoes and cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      Great pizza dough! It's become one of our favorites for a 'taco' pizza!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      By stupid mistake I put WHOLE cooked beans into dough!!! Naturally not enough liquid from 1/2 cup, so I put in 1 (14 oz)can, rinsed. Kneeded the dough together by hand to break the beans, and would you believe it!! Result was very good. I rolled the dough very thin in two rounds (about 12 in)and topped with a lebanese-style tomato sauce. Cut pizza into small wedges and served as a snack with tea. ( Okay, so I am strange :) ). _ I have to confess that I have subbed 1/2 cup flour for whole-wheat flour besides the mistake with the beans, so was relunctant to rate at all after the many changes, but I liked it so much for the nice combination of proteins from beans and grains. - BTW, it naturally tastes different from "standard" pizza dough, but in a good way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      Needless to say, I was pleasantly shocked at how much my family liked this pizza dough. The whole time I was making it I was sceptical. The dough seemed too stiff and was difficult to roll out but it was worth it. I even halved the cayenne pepper. Turned out I didn't need to. Next time I will add the full amount. This recipe is in my keeper file where it will be used often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      I’m on a low sodium diet to knock down high blood pressure without medication, and pizza is probably the food item I miss most. Even one slice of real pizza would exceed my daily allowance of sodium. I used this recipe to ease the craving. To be clear, it doesn’t taste the same as what you get at a pizza parlor, but it’s very good in its own way. The texture/feel of this crust is authentic. Lacking cayenne pepper, I substituted 2/3tsp of Tabasco sauce for the salt and cayenne. The black beans, Tabasco and corn meal did much to punch up what would otherwise be overly bland pizza dough. If you’re on a low sodium diet, you probably shouldn’t use canned black beans (even drained and rinsed, they’ve absorbed a lot of salt) or commercial canned tomato sauce or paste. It’s easy and cheap to simmer-boil some dry black beans for an hour or two, and it’s easy to buy four to six hard ripe tomatoes, peel them with a knife, cut each one in six apple-like slices to scoop out the seeds, and then hand-squeeze what’s left into the veggies which I prefer to cook in a frying pan with 1Tbsp of olive oil before dressing the pizza. Besides zucchini, onion, black bean and tomato, I added two sliced mushrooms and a big handful of stem-plucked raw spinach. If you feel the need for a smattering of cheese, use about 3 ounces crumbled goat cheese (which is relatively low sodium as cheeses go). Out of the oven, season it with fresh ground pepper and oregano. Supplement one or two slices of this pizza with a big dark green salad and homemade oil, vinegar and lemon dressing, and you’ve got a delicious and very nutritious low-sodium dinner. Thank you, Evangelia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2005

      Wonderful pizza dough! I made two pizzas, one with sauce plus mozz and cheddar cheese for the kids and one for me with jack cheese, black beans, chicken with fajita seasoning, red pepper, corn and a little green onion. They were both fabulous! I love the added nutrition of black beans in the dough and even my non bean-eaters gobbled it up. Thanks so much, Evangelia for a super recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      i made this in my bread machine and it was so good. i made a mushroom pizza with it(DH was on a business trip) realllllly good and so healthy and easy. evangelina thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2004

      Super pizza dough! I love unique recipes like this one. The black beans give terrific flavor and color to the pizza and some nutritional benefits as well (added protein and some vitamins). We topped ours with salsa verde, mozzarella and cheddar, corn and carmelized onions and red bell peppers. Yum!!! Highly recommed this recipe to anyone looking for a great, unusual pizza! Perfect if you want to try a Tex-mex pizza, but I imagine this would be great for barbeque chicken pizza or even traditional pizza too. I did add the cayenne- also a nice touch! Great recipe, Evangelia- Will certainly make again... YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2003

      Wonderful Flavor!! Usually it's just "pizza crust"....this had a wonderful flavor all it's own. First time I've ever enjoyed the crust as much as the toppings. Thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      Delicious! I made this exactly as directed, except I had to knead by hand, because I had doubled the recipe, which was too much for my little bread machine! I also had to mess with the flour and water ratio, and was afraid that it was too dense and tough. But after the first rising it was very soft and pliable. I topped the pizza with tomato sauce, a little mozzarella, and some sauted zucchini, red onion, and gold bell pepper. It was so good that I felt like I was cheating on my diet! My serving only had 7 grams of fat in it, and most of that came from the cheese! Thanks for a wonderful lowfat recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black-Bean-Pizza-Dough Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (52 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.4
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    71%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 74.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites