17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a fantastic pizza dough. It is easy to make, with ingridents that are on hand. The dough was a little sticky, and had to adjust the amount of water, but it all worked out in the end. Once I rolled out the dough, I grilled it on my grill top pan ( the kind that covers two burners). I roasted onions, jalapenos, and tomatoes. Once one side of the crust was done, I flipped it, added the roasted vegetables, black beans, corn, and mozerello cheese. Absolutly incredible!!!!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissa hanmer February 19, 2002

I absolutely despise black beans...BUT this pizza crust is magnificent!!! I let mine sit overnight and it turned out more chewy than I like, but it was still very good. The toppings I chose were: zucchini (1/4 sliced), red onion (thinly sliced rings), black olives and tomato paste for the sauce. It was a HUGE hit at work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hethyr9 June 01, 2013

IT is a good crust, but one would expect something special from the black beans. It was rare for me to notice them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond May 26, 2012

This was really good and the dough was soft and easy to work with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana March 30, 2009

Easy, fast. I had friends over who were extremely grossed out at the prospect of a beany pizza but ended up loving this, the texture is nice! However don't expect it to be super flavorful, unless you go crazy on the cayenne pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Russell Cooks March 20, 2009

This was very easy and my family liked it. My husband even liked it (and he knew there were black beans in it... he hates when I make "weird" things... but he really liked this) I will be using this as my new pizza dough. Thanks for a yummy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandihaslam December 01, 2008

This dough is amazing, and I'd highly recommend it! I had never made homemade dough OR used a pizza stone before, and this recipe made it very easy! No part of the crust burned or even blackened in the oven, and yet it all turned out perfectly crisp. The cayenne pepper really does add some taste and kick to the dough, which imagine might be otherwise a bit bland. I think I might experiment with adding some other spices to the dough; it seems like you can kind of play it by ear there. I did add more water to the dough (like some of the other reviewers had mentioned), and it definitely helped get the dough to a point where I could roll it out. I took the rest of my black beans, pureed them, rolled them in some spices and bread crumbs, and then used my excess flour and an egg to flour and fry them into little pieces that looked JUST like hamburger - tasted great as a topping, too! For other toppings I cut up whatever extra veggies I had laying around - I honestly think you could put just about anything on this dough - and used some great pizza sauce. It was amazing! I have had multiple requests from friends to make the pizza again and I am about to make two more right now. Definitely easy, definitely great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elisecarter04 September 25, 2008

Great pizza dough topped w/ corn, beans, tomatoes and cheese!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keeferop November 30, 2006

Great pizza dough! It's become one of our favorites for a 'taco' pizza!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linajjac October 22, 2006

By stupid mistake I put WHOLE cooked beans into dough!!! Naturally not enough liquid from 1/2 cup, so I put in 1 (14 oz)can, rinsed. Kneeded the dough together by hand to break the beans, and would you believe it!! Result was very good. I rolled the dough very thin in two rounds (about 12 in)and topped with a lebanese-style tomato sauce. Cut pizza into small wedges and served as a snack with tea. ( Okay, so I am strange :) ). _ I have to confess that I have subbed 1/2 cup flour for whole-wheat flour besides the mistake with the beans, so was relunctant to rate at all after the many changes, but I liked it so much for the nice combination of proteins from beans and grains. - BTW, it naturally tastes different from "standard" pizza dough, but in a good way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inge 1505 April 28, 2006
Black-Bean-Pizza-Dough Recipe