Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Black Bean Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Dip

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2010

      Very good bean dip. I used 1 jalapeno and the juice of 3 limes; left out the tomato paste, water, onion, and chili's. Everyone liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Great dip, however I did make a few modifications, as it was a little mild for our taste at first. I doubled the amount of lime juice and added a tablespoon of diced jalepeno (had one I needed to use up in the fridge). The extra lime juice really brightened up the flavor, and the jalepeno added a nice zip, but wasn't overpowering. I smeared some of the dip on a couple tortillas with some diced tomatoes, corn, and cheese, and zapped them in the microwave for about a minute. Fantastic lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      This dip is delicious. I do recommend 1 small change though. Raw garlic is really strong, so I recommend using either roasted or sauteing it a bit before adding it to the recipe. I'm sure once it spends time in the fridge it will mellow out, but if you're serving it immediately, definitely cook the garlic. I didn't add green onions (don't like) or extra salt (trying to cut back), but that was a personal preference. Thanks for sharing, I'll pass this recipe along to friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Wow! We threw in a little fresh cilantro at the very end. This was a tasty and quick dinner for us this Lent. We'll be using this recipe again, but taking Beano before!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      Really, really good dip! I have had this in my to make pile and came across it today looking for some way to use up some tomato paste I had left over. So decided to make this and I'm glad I did. DH and I both really like it! I used one can black beans (was almost 2 cups), subbed chopped pickled jalapeno for chilies and added a little of the juice and left out green onion since we didn't have any. As others mentioned, would probably be good hot, but delicious right after being made, too! Thanks for sharing! Love that it's really easy to make and is much better for you than store bought dips!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2004

      Yum, my 3 y.o. couldn't get enough of this dip. It's tangy, zippy, zingy, good. I didn't put in any hot pepper or green onions and substituted lemon juice for the lime, but everything else was the same. I liked that it was dairy-free. Great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2003

      Sue, this was wonderful! I was looking for a bean dip like the one they sell at Whole Foods (they market it as low-fat) but other than this one, I was very surprised that all of the recipes I found contained typical dip ingredients like a whole container of cream cheese or like 12 slcies of bacon or 2 cups of cheese. Stuff like that just ends up giving me a belly-ache. I omitted the chiles and subbed the cayenne with chili powder to taste- we are not big on hot foods (read: wimps). I pureed all of the ingredients less 1/2 cup of beans and then added the half-cup and whirred it in the food processor until it was sort of chunky. I think next time I will leave 1 cup out for an even chunkier texture. Also, next time, I am going to add some cilantro. My boyfriend finished this off before the night was over- I served it with Homemade Tortilla Chips (#4378). I am actually getting ready to make soe more right now. This is a really good snack to constantly have on-hand in the fridge: healthy, high-protein, low-fat and absolutely delicious...what more could you ask for???

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      I love black beans and eat them often. I started with dry beans and used a quick soak method to cook them (boil 2 min, cover and sit for 1 hour, then simmer for 1 hour). I like jalapenos so I subbed those in for the mild peppers. I also used red pepper flakes instead of the cayenne and added fresh cilantro in the blender stage. The flavor was great! This reminds me of the bean dip that I had at a breakfast bar near Mexico City. I will certainly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      Yummy! I used the juice of 1/2 fresh lime (better than concentrated juice). I didn't have tomato paste so I used ketchup (yes good old Heinz!). I didn't put anything spicy because it is for a toddler as well and I added 1/4 cup of olive oil because my blender is crap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2013

      I made a few adjustments but this was outstanding!! I didn't have any limes so I used the juice of a whole lemon, added some chopped pickled jalapeno to give it an extra kick, omitted the onion as I only had yellow on hand (I can't wait to add green onion next time!), and used the full can of green chilis (4 oz?). I will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      I really enjoyed this black bean dip! Sometimes I have to play around with a recipe based on what I have in stock. It's always a pain having to shop for one or two ingredients. I did not have green onions on hand, but I used onion powder. I also added ancho chilis to spice the dip up a bit. I didn't have tomato paste thanks to the other recipes I made earlier, so I used diced tomatoes. This was a really easy recipe, and I'm happy that I was able to make enough to share with others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      Made this for my 9 month old baby! (Minus the onions, cayenne pepper and chilies). I added more tomato paste, and it was YUUUUMMY! He LOVED IT! Ate the whole thing! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      I had left over blackbeans and was looking for a way to use them up. Thanks for the recipe. It was tastee and a new idea for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      This was great! Very tasty and paired well with the spicy salsa I made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      This is really good. I came across Frito Scoops (not always available in MX) and couldn't find bean dip. This is actually better than the canned dip. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      This is a great dip... hearty and flavorful. The only alteration I made to the recipe was to use a fresh jalapeno (seeds and membranes removed) in place of the mild chilies and I added a bit of parsley. It was a hit at the Cinqo de Mayo party I brought it to :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      I made this just as written, and it was really delicious. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      Great dip. Needs more heat then the recipe calls for, we didn't add tomato paste, excellent for a freezing vermont evening!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

    • on October 10, 2010

      Didn't have any chilis, so I added a bit of salsa. Great football-watching dip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (468 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.5
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    21%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 721.5 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 16.0 g
    64%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes