18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been making this for years and whipped some up the other night for some icy cold boiled shrimp. I added another half teaspoon of horseradish because we like it spicy. Very good!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! July 25, 2002

This is how my mom makes cocktail sauce, sometimes she uses mayo as well .. its really easy and good!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa May 04, 2002

This is exactly how I have always made cocktail sauce, but I always add a shake or two of Lea & Perrins too. It's so easy and tastes so much better than even the good bottled stuff. Once you taste how fresh this is, you'll never buy prepared sauce again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie December 31, 2003

I always make my cocktail sauce this way. I don't always measure, though. Some friends like a little more horseradish; others like a little less. This seems to have so much more flavor than any purchased bottled stuff.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. December 23, 2003

I used Gold's Horseradish Sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
globalbob March 25, 2014

This is VERY good and as another reviewer said, there is no reason to buy the pre-made kind. I did replace 1/4 of the ketchup with chili sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Transplant February 11, 2013

Great cocktail sauce! Easily halved too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Busy Lindsay December 27, 2009

I cut this recipe down to make only 1/4th cup. The proportions were perfect. Prep time is so quick it seems silly now to purchase bottled shrimp cocktail sauce. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon July 02, 2009

This was so easy & quick to put together - Enjoyed by all - Just enough punch to it without taking away the flavor from the shrimp Thanks Bev

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy July 01, 2009
Bev's Quick and Easy Shrimp Cocktail Sauce