Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Barbecue Baked Lentils Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barbecue Baked Lentils

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2011

      I thought these were very good lentils and the BBQ sauce is phenomenal (I'll be stealing it for other recipes- I used honey in place of the syrup). However I personally thought that baking it in a casserole dish for an hour was an unnecessary extra step as it does not ever set up into a solid lentil loaf. Perhaps I had the wrong idea, I was expecting that the bake time in the oven would have this affect but it didn't. It was still very tasty and I think it would be fun to double the sauce and perhaps make this in a crock pot. Or simply stop cooking after the lentils were ready on the stove. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      This was easy to make with a great taste. I did find that my lentils didn't soften to our liking, and they seemed a little dry. Next time I might cook them longer in the pot phase, and add a bit more liquid to the bake. Thanks, this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      This was quite tasty. We did make it non-vegetarian by adding a bag of frozen previously cooked barbequed chicken. But this worked well. The only thing is, that I would have liked it a little saucier. I think next time I'll try to add extra vegetable broth. This is a great one, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      This was my first attempt at cooking or eating lentils, and I have to say I am impressed. I love the bbq flavor and nutrition value. I cooked a large portion and dished out into single portions and froze to make several meals over rice. It reheated nicely. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      This was a different way for us to enjoy lentils. My husband thought it was a bit overly sweet for him but said he liked the concept. I didn't have a problem with it at all. So, I will do it again but with a bit less syrup. Made for Vegetarian Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Sadly I only had enough maple syrup to make half the recipe. It was delicious! I used mixed lentils instead of brown since that was what I had on hand. It absorbed all the cooking liquid so I substituted vegetable broth for the reserved liquid. Made for Veg'n Swap #3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Yummy dish! I did mess with it a tad but the barbecue flavor was the main thing here and it works so well with the lentils... why didn't I ever think of it before? I cut the time and used drained and rinsed canned lentils. Just mixed it all (with a little crushed red pepper flakes) and baked. Also, I didn't have maple syrup but didn't want that to stop me from trying this recipe, so used agave nectar instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      I loved this! Using honey in place of the syrup. Added chipotle sauce. I also did have to add more water as it baked. Used it as a bed for grilled steaks. So tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      This dish was good. A little too sweet for our taste so next time I will use half the amount of maple syrup and maybe add some hot sauce. I think I will also cover the dish before baking as the lentils were a little crunchy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Excellent lentil recipe! The only change I made was to use a passion fruit mustard. Very tasty barbecue flavour with just the right amount of sweetness. Hearty and filling. Yum! Thanks AJO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barbecue Baked Lentils

    Serving Size: 1 (317 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 379.5
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    48%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 743.3 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.1 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 24.5 g
    98%
    Sugars 23.0 g
    92%
    Protein 21.2 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes