Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Baked Falafel Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Falafel Balls

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2009

      These were yummy! Bit of a disaster trying to stuff the pitas, but the flavor of the falafels was soft and smooth. We had hummus, tzatizki (sp?), pickles, toms and cukes. I think next time I will put them in a wrap. I used step 4, but added 1/2 tbsp more oil and baked at 425 for 25- 28 mins. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I followed the advice of previous reviewers and skipped step 4. I also doubled the spices as was suggested. These were ok, probably won't do again. The spices were a bit overpowering, plus the balls did not really taste like falafel, something was missing in the mix of spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Thought these turned out very yummy. Also skipped step 4 and used whole wheat bread crumbs. Used baking paper in the oven. Loved the texture the bulgur gave the finished product!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I also skip step 4 and double the spices and these are fantastic! They hold together well enough to make 'burger' patties from as well. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      I don't like leaving low ratings, but this just didn't turn out that great for me. I was really hopful about this one too! I followed the recipe exactly and agree these definately need some more spice! Right out of the oven they were more hard on the outside then "crispy". So I tried them again the next day and found them very dry and grainy. Maybe adding a splash of oil to the mix would help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Very Good. Definately needs to cook an extra 15 minutes as suggested by a previous user. I used a small icecream scoop to portion and shape the falafels. I served these with a garlic tahini sauce from Emril.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      great recipe! i added toasted cumin seeds to the falafel mixture and cooked approximately 15 minutes longer than suggested. i also did not use step 4. best falafel ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I followed the recipe as stated, but the inside of the balls was like mush. It was almost the same texture as baby food. I would not make these again. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      These were really GREAT! Would give them higher number if I could rate! HOW healthy and delicious too! ABSOLUTELY will be making these again too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      I really like this one! I'm making it pretty regularly, especially now that it's too hot to turn the oven on more than once a week. I normally double the recipe, and refrigerate the extra. (I four-fle the chickpeas, freeze the extra of those.) It's definitely a season-to-taste dish - as written is pretty bland by my taste. Also, I use 1/4 cup wheat germ instead of the bread crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      My first attempt at falafel and they came out pretty good! They were a bit dry so next time I will omit step 4 as previously suggested. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      This recipe doubled really well, but I think that it needs just a little bit more cumin and garlic. It was a perfect addition to my toothpick buffet on New Year's Eve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      I solved the dry problem completely by accident! I was on the phone while I was putting this together, and completely forgot about step 4 (sweating the onions and garlic.) I ran them though the food processor,and just kept on adding ingredients. We thought all was lost when I remembered the forgotten step 4, after I placed them in the oven. However, they were crunchy on the outside, and almost creamy on the inside, with a bit more of a bite than the sauted onions and garlic. I think we'll just omit step 4 from now on. Thanks for posting this recipe! I would have never thought to cook them in the oven instead of frying on the range. This saves a TON of cleanup and quite a few calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      These turned out nice and held together well. They were a little dry, but good mixed in with my eggplant casserole(with tomato sauce). I imagine this would be good in a pita with a creamy dressing. Thank you Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Falafel Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 137.6
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    22%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 222.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes