14 Reviews

These were yummy! Bit of a disaster trying to stuff the pitas, but the flavor of the falafels was soft and smooth. We had hummus, tzatizki (sp?), pickles, toms and cukes. I think next time I will put them in a wrap. I used step 4, but added 1/2 tbsp more oil and baked at 425 for 25- 28 mins. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo December 01, 2009

I followed the advice of previous reviewers and skipped step 4. I also doubled the spices as was suggested. These were ok, probably won't do again. The spices were a bit overpowering, plus the balls did not really taste like falafel, something was missing in the mix of spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engineer in the Kitchen April 07, 2009

Thought these turned out very yummy. Also skipped step 4 and used whole wheat bread crumbs. Used baking paper in the oven. Loved the texture the bulgur gave the finished product!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
squirmmom February 15, 2009

I also skip step 4 and double the spices and these are fantastic! They hold together well enough to make 'burger' patties from as well. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elle_mnop January 02, 2009

I don't like leaving low ratings, but this just didn't turn out that great for me. I was really hopful about this one too! I followed the recipe exactly and agree these definately need some more spice! Right out of the oven they were more hard on the outside then "crispy". So I tried them again the next day and found them very dry and grainy. Maybe adding a splash of oil to the mix would help.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma September 17, 2008

Very Good. Definately needs to cook an extra 15 minutes as suggested by a previous user. I used a small icecream scoop to portion and shape the falafels. I served these with a garlic tahini sauce from Emril.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marce79 February 01, 2008

great recipe! i added toasted cumin seeds to the falafel mixture and cooked approximately 15 minutes longer than suggested. i also did not use step 4. best falafel ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sara.gallup January 10, 2008

I followed the recipe as stated, but the inside of the balls was like mush. It was almost the same texture as baby food. I would not make these again. Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirchren January 02, 2008

These were really GREAT! Would give them higher number if I could rate! HOW healthy and delicious too! ABSOLUTELY will be making these again too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder July 03, 2007

I really like this one! I'm making it pretty regularly, especially now that it's too hot to turn the oven on more than once a week. I normally double the recipe, and refrigerate the extra. (I four-fle the chickpeas, freeze the extra of those.) It's definitely a season-to-taste dish - as written is pretty bland by my taste. Also, I use 1/4 cup wheat germ instead of the bread crumbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbirdlady June 30, 2007
Baked Falafel Balls