Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Aussie Eastern-Styled Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aussie Eastern-Styled Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2010

      O-M-G-!-!-!!!!! This is FABULOUS!!! I wasn't quite sure what to expect. Love all of the ingredients, but potatoes and olives?? I believe I ate the entire bowl....!!!! I did add a squeeze of lemon to the potatoes (no need here to deglaze, did for some added flavour). This has instantly become one of my fave recipes on zaar!!! Thanks SO much for posting, toni!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      Strangely delectable. I used Yukon Golds which have a nice balance between waxiness and tenderness. This one is staying in my main cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      This is great! I've never used cumin & olives in a potato dish and this was delicious. I would even add a bit more cumin next time and I cut the black olives in half. Very tasty! Made for healthy choices ABC game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      I cut the recipe in half but used a little more olives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      My husband, son, and mom were WILD for these! The black olives and cumin make such a great taste combination. I didn't stray from the recipe at all. Thank you for posting this great recipe! Reviewed for ZWTIII

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      Delicious. I thought the olives made the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      Mmmmmm cumin, mmmmm olives, mmmmm what a great combination of flavours. I covered the frying pan while these were cooking, so the potatoes cooked through quicker with the help of their own steam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      We absolutely loved these potatoes!!!! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      Loved these....also followed suggestion for deglazing. The water did help to finish cooking the potatoes as well. Mine were getting a bit over-browned because it was taking so long for them to become tender....and I didn't think that they were cut that large. The water really did the trick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      These potatoes looked just SO yummy in Rita’s photograph, and when I read the recipe I was totally won over. I did, however, follow Rita’s suggestion about deglazing and did this with half water/half lemon juice; and I reduced the amount of cumin (from the tablespoon in the recipe) to 1 teaspoon, and I doubled the garlic to 4 cloves. I left the potatoes unpeeled (they were baby potatoes, so I used about a dozen), and I used kalamata olives. A truly delicious recipe, in effect boomeranged from an OZ website to America and back to OZ, via toni! Thanks for posting this one, toni. Fabulously yummy, typically Aussie multi-cultural, and as a bonus, low fat. I’ll be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      I just loved these. But I did make some changes. I used 5 potatoes unpeeled just scrubed. Browned for 5 minutes added the onion and garlic browned an other 5 minutes. Then I added 1 cup hot water to help cook father and deglaze all the yummy brown goodness from the bottom of the pan. Then added 1/2 teaspoon of cumin! Mine must be very fresh because it came through nicely! Seasoned with lots of pepper and salt tossed in the olives to heat and served! So good! If any left over they would be great in eggs for breakfast the next morning! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aussie Eastern-Styled Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 314.6
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    16%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 208.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.8 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites