Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Artichokes Steamed in the Microwave Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Artichokes Steamed in the Microwave

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2012

      This deserve 5 stars just for being so quick! I cooked two for 10 minutes and it was slightly too long but because the petals were all wilty looking but the artichoke "meat" was perfectly done! I did slice them in half and remove the choke before cooking so that's probably why it overcooked. Wow! I'm a total artichoke lover and am used to steaming them for an hour. My husband was out of town last night and I had a craving for them and found this recipe! Awesome! I can see me eating this for lunch now too due to the ease of it! For two large artichokes I'd probably steam for 8.5 to 9 minutes. Thank you so much for this gem of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      I'm so happy to have found a FAST and EASY way to successfully steam artichokes. This is going into my Best of the Best file. I steamed 2 large artichokes in 9 minutes. Wow! I'm a happy girl. I then went on to cut them in half, marinate them and fire-roast them on the grill. Fire Roasted Artichokes With Herb Aioli, if you're interested. Thank you for posting this easy recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      This worked well as an easy first step for another recipe. I had to use plastic wrap to cover the dish. I also found that this worked fine for 4 artichokes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      YUM! I made 2 artichokes, didn't slice them in half though. I cooked them for 10 minutes and they were a tad overdone, so next time I would try 9 minutes. Obviously the size of the artichokes make a difference too. I made a cajun dipping sauce for mine with some olive oil, a little tomato paste, and some cajun seasoning (DELISH). For hubby (who doesn't like it hot), I made him an Italian dipping sauce with some olive oil, a little Italian seasoning, some parm cheese and a little tomato paste (no complaints from him either). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      Five stars for ease and convenience - clean up is very nice. The time isn't as much a factor for me since I usually steam them in the pressure cooker for 10-12 minutes. The downside for me is having to cook them with plastic wrap touching them, since I did not have an otherwise suitable container. I was surprised at how quick they cooked - 13 minutes. And they tasted just as good using the microwave - more pluses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      This works perfectly! Quick and easy to do! I cut it down to one artichoke, and cooked for 9 minutes. Fabulous! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I made 2 and how easy, I was going to have to forgot having a beer with a friend to make the long process, but this way I was able to do both, lol. I served mine with my lemon basil yogurt sauce, which is a great dip for the artichokes. Greek yogurt, fresh basil, garlic, lemon juice, pinch of sugar, salt and pepper. Two friends I had over to watch football are cutting carbs and calories, so I thought it would be a nice simple appetizer. They loved it. Thx for the great recipe and oh so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      thank you for this great idea! I love steamed artichokes, but can only eat one at a time. I did one in a small casserole dish with a lid, it took only 8 minutes in my microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Artichokes Steamed in the Microwave

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 62.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    14%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 121.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes