8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This deserve 5 stars just for being so quick! I cooked two for 10 minutes and it was slightly too long but because the petals were all wilty looking but the artichoke "meat" was perfectly done! I did slice them in half and remove the choke before cooking so that's probably why it overcooked. Wow! I'm a total artichoke lover and am used to steaming them for an hour. My husband was out of town last night and I had a craving for them and found this recipe! Awesome! I can see me eating this for lunch now too due to the ease of it! For two large artichokes I'd probably steam for 8.5 to 9 minutes. Thank you so much for this gem of a recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl July 11, 2012

I'm so happy to have found a FAST and EASY way to successfully steam artichokes. This is going into my Best of the Best file. I steamed 2 large artichokes in 9 minutes. Wow! I'm a happy girl. I then went on to cut them in half, marinate them and fire-roast them on the grill. Fire Roasted Artichokes With Herb Aioli, if you're interested. Thank you for posting this easy recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood April 11, 2011

This worked well as an easy first step for another recipe. I had to use plastic wrap to cover the dish. I also found that this worked fine for 4 artichokes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch May 09, 2009

YUM! I made 2 artichokes, didn't slice them in half though. I cooked them for 10 minutes and they were a tad overdone, so next time I would try 9 minutes. Obviously the size of the artichokes make a difference too. I made a cajun dipping sauce for mine with some olive oil, a little tomato paste, and some cajun seasoning (DELISH). For hubby (who doesn't like it hot), I made him an Italian dipping sauce with some olive oil, a little Italian seasoning, some parm cheese and a little tomato paste (no complaints from him either). Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride February 21, 2012

Five stars for ease and convenience - clean up is very nice. The time isn't as much a factor for me since I usually steam them in the pressure cooker for 10-12 minutes. The downside for me is having to cook them with plastic wrap touching them, since I did not have an otherwise suitable container. I was surprised at how quick they cooked - 13 minutes. And they tasted just as good using the microwave - more pluses.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 04, 2012

This works perfectly! Quick and easy to do! I cut it down to one artichoke, and cooked for 9 minutes. Fabulous! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 16, 2011

I made 2 and how easy, I was going to have to forgot having a beer with a friend to make the long process, but this way I was able to do both, lol. I served mine with my lemon basil yogurt sauce, which is a great dip for the artichokes. Greek yogurt, fresh basil, garlic, lemon juice, pinch of sugar, salt and pepper. Two friends I had over to watch football are cutting carbs and calories, so I thought it would be a nice simple appetizer. They loved it. Thx for the great recipe and oh so easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook January 17, 2010

thank you for this great idea! I love steamed artichokes, but can only eat one at a time. I did one in a small casserole dish with a lid, it took only 8 minutes in my microwave.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rweaver3 October 25, 2008
Artichokes Steamed in the Microwave