27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe exactly as stated except I omitted the ginger after reading other reviews. I did throw a dash of pumpkin pie spice in and it turned out delish! I especially loved the texture of the oatmeal. Not too sweet, with just enough favor to make me scrape the bowl clean! I will definitely log this one in my recipe book.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meli.record January 18, 2014

Easy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond October 22, 2013

Made exactly to recipe, except I used unsweetened applesauce so I added another 2 tbsp white sugar. I couldn't imagine 1/2 tsp ginger being to much, but I'm forced to agree with the others. It did take over. I would use apple pie spice if I did this again (as someone else suggested!) I also thought it could be sweeter. I did like the texture the applesauce gives it though! - and I must say I like it way better cold, the spices melt in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma April 02, 2011

I cut the recipe in half for two of us. I used milk instead of water as I don't care for water in oatmeal and used less then indicated as I like my oatmeal thicker. I didn't add the salt, ginger or the optional sprinkles. I used Splenda brown sugar blend. I liked this but my son thought it should be sweeter. I also made this in the microwave and not on the stove. I will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol March 31, 2010

Yummy! I subbed organic Sucanat for the brown sugar and only used 1 tsp. Ginger I used just a pinch. Added a pat of raw butter instead of milk (I used a 1/2 milk, 1/2 water ratio to cook it) and used some of my homemade applesauce and it was fabulous!!!! Another one to add to our breakfast routine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
athenalove46 March 16, 2010

Like a previous reviewer, I halved this recipe and cooked it in the microwave. I didn't include the ginger, but it was delicious nonetheless and kept me full and satisfied for a long time. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Autsayder March 06, 2010

Halved this for one serving (for me) and adapted to the microwave. I added all ingredients but applesauce and microwaved for 1 1/2 minutes on high. When finished, I stirred the applesauce into the hot oatmeal and it was delicious! Just slightly sweet, but I still felt like I was enjoying a healthy breakfast. I used quick oats. Thanks for sharing, I will add this to my breakfast favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F February 25, 2010

I like this so much that I was just craving it at 11pm and had to look up the recipe again! This time (probably due to it being 11pm) I accidentally grabbed the almond extract instead of the vanilla extract and it is still a really great flavor! I really need to just memorize the measurements! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TaraSutton August 26, 2009
Applesauce Oatmeal