Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Applesauce Oatmeal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Applesauce Oatmeal

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2014

      I made this recipe exactly as stated except I omitted the ginger after reading other reviews. I did throw a dash of pumpkin pie spice in and it turned out delish! I especially loved the texture of the oatmeal. Not too sweet, with just enough favor to make me scrape the bowl clean! I will definitely log this one in my recipe book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      Easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

    • on April 02, 2011

      Made exactly to recipe, except I used unsweetened applesauce so I added another 2 tbsp white sugar. I couldn't imagine 1/2 tsp ginger being to much, but I'm forced to agree with the others. It did take over. I would use apple pie spice if I did this again (as someone else suggested!) I also thought it could be sweeter. I did like the texture the applesauce gives it though! - and I must say I like it way better cold, the spices melt in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      I cut the recipe in half for two of us. I used milk instead of water as I don't care for water in oatmeal and used less then indicated as I like my oatmeal thicker. I didn't add the salt, ginger or the optional sprinkles. I used Splenda brown sugar blend. I liked this but my son thought it should be sweeter. I also made this in the microwave and not on the stove. I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Yummy! I subbed organic Sucanat for the brown sugar and only used 1 tsp. Ginger I used just a pinch. Added a pat of raw butter instead of milk (I used a 1/2 milk, 1/2 water ratio to cook it) and used some of my homemade applesauce and it was fabulous!!!! Another one to add to our breakfast routine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Like a previous reviewer, I halved this recipe and cooked it in the microwave. I didn't include the ginger, but it was delicious nonetheless and kept me full and satisfied for a long time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      Halved this for one serving (for me) and adapted to the microwave. I added all ingredients but applesauce and microwaved for 1 1/2 minutes on high. When finished, I stirred the applesauce into the hot oatmeal and it was delicious! Just slightly sweet, but I still felt like I was enjoying a healthy breakfast. I used quick oats. Thanks for sharing, I will add this to my breakfast favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

    • on August 26, 2009

      I like this so much that I was just craving it at 11pm and had to look up the recipe again! This time (probably due to it being 11pm) I accidentally grabbed the almond extract instead of the vanilla extract and it is still a really great flavor! I really need to just memorize the measurements! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      We really liked this, though I followed others' suggestions and didn't add as much ginger. For the first time ever, I saved the left-overs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      This was just okay, we thought the ginger was overwhelming. We finished it, but just barely and my toddlers who amazingly are very good eaters were pretty slow to eat this one. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      This was super yummy. I used the steel cut oats and apple pie spice instead of what was in the posted recipe. All 3 of us that ate it for dinner gobbled it up. I think I'll have a fight on my hands to see who gets the small bowl of leftovers for breakfast! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      The texture is great - and a nice spin on oatmeal. Only thing keeping this from 5 stars in my mind is that I have to play with the spice measurents (double or triple the cinnamon, up the ginger, add some nutmeg..). I will be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Mmmm!!! :D! Thank you for the great recipe- I was wanting to eat more oatmeal- but the only way Ive made it was with real butter. This is SOOO much better (both tasting & for my waistline)... I have to admit... I added organic unpasturized honey (to help my allergies) and 2 T. brown suger... I like it super sweet!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      I loved the change in flavor this created for oatmeal. I read the previous comments and adjusted my recipe a tad as follows...i started out reducing the ground ginger to see how I felt about the flavor as mentioned by another review (ended up adding the rest back in at end...I liked the blend of spices) I also added nutmeg in as an additional flavor not a substitute. I used honey instead of brown sugar (which was also a brick big enough to kill lol) and I waited until all ingredients were mixed in prior to adding the vanilla. Great blend of flavor and spices...enjoyed it completely. UPDATED TO 5 STARS!! My 5 year old absolutely loves this mixture! I now make it in double and triple batches to keep in fridge to warm up for her whenever she wants it. Who can turn down a healthy request like that whatever time of day or night??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      Oh wow! I will NEVER go back to regular oatmeal / porridge again! I loved this. I made the oatmeal with British rolled oats & stuck to the recipe with the exception that I had no brown sugar so I took a couple of spoonfulls of the ginger syrup from a jar of homemade preserved ginger! I also used homemade stewed apple applesauce so it was nice & 'tart'! Thanks so much for this great recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      I had one of those little (half-cup) snack cups of applesauce, minus a tablespoon, to use up... I didn't use exact measurements because of that. I used a packet of Quaker Organic instant oatmeal, which is 1/3 cup; what looked like about half a cup of water; a "dash" of cinnamon that turned into a whole lot more when my hand slipped, so I just left out the ginger, since I'm not fond of it anyway; a drop of vanilla extract, and a pinch of Splenda brown sugar blend plus a packet of regular Splenda. I completely forgot about the salt, but I don't think I would have liked it in here anyway. I microwaved it for a minute and a half, and it was perfect... a much more interesting way of using up that applesauce than to just eat it out of the container! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      This was pretty good! I cut the recipe in a quarter for one serving-used milk (1/3 cup & 1/4 cup oats). I left out the ginger but will try subbing nutmeg instead. I used Splenda brown sugar-not too much of it-and used 2 Splenda pkts. I made this in the microwave & it turned out well. I cooked the oats, the mashed 1/2 a banana in with the applesauce & vanilla & it was a thick, rich creamy treat. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      I made this recipe with only one change, which was to add a lot more cinnamon so it tasted more dessert-like. I really liked it!!! I would probably add a little less applesauce, as I found it to be a tad too tart for my liking. But, I usually add a TON of syrup or sugar to my oatmeal, and the natural sugar in the applesauce meant that I got the sweet without the added calories! It's definitely a keeper and a great new way to get me to eat some oatmeal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Applesauce Oatmeal

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 131.5
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    71%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 58.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes