20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love how people don't follow the directions but give only 3 stars! The directions say to peel....that isn't the recipe writers fault. As far as amounts for cinnamon, nutmeg or other spices, you would need to do that on taste. I personally would add some sugar....and the amount would be dependent on the taste of the apples. You would need to taste test it. It is disappointing to other recipe searchers to see a perfectly good recipe only receive 3.5 stars, because of cook's error or stupidity. I am sorry for ranting. I almost didn't look at this recipe for the stars. I am going apple picking tomorrow and I will try this recipe out!! Thanks for sharing!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moreplease! October 04, 2008

This is a fool proof basic recipe for applesauce. I agree with moreplease and her comment about not following directions and then giving 3 stars. That is unfair. The Ball Blue Book is pretty much the bible for canning and preserving and I have had great luck with this same recipe for years! I do not peel the apples as I feel that is the best part. When you cook them until very tender and put them through a Foley food mill, it will not have chunks. As far as the amount of sugar, it depends on the apples. Simply add more if you desire sweeter sauce or you have a tart apple. You can always add a little more at a time with spices, too. Do not be afraid to try this recipe. It really is great. When you taste this sauce and compare it to watered down store bought applesauce, you will be amazed at how simple and how delicious it is. Canning is truly rewarding and FUN.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev erly August 13, 2009

Perfect! Just a note for novices...don't add too much water (like I did) or you'll be going at it all day adding more apples to thicken it up!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jollymae October 25, 2009

I thought this was fantastic. I'm new to canning, so I'm sticking with basic, simple canning recipes right now, and this was as easy as they come. I made 1 quart to start with, and I used a trio of apples -- 1/3 Gala, 1/3 Fuji and 1/3 Honeycrisp apples, with only a touch of cinnamon. And I thought it produced a wonderfully tasty applesauce. Those are all sweet apple varieties, so it only took a touch (maybe 1/3 cup ??) of sugar to suit our taste preference. Thanks for posting this recipe, JillAZ.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal October 05, 2010

This is a very great recipe and have been canning up the sauce to later make it into apple butter. I added a little less sugar since I like the tartness, but each to their own taste.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tazer October 19, 2009

This was delicious and will be added to my annual canning recipes. I added a couple of dashes of apple pie spice and sugar to taste (about 1/2 to 3/4 cup) and it was wonderful! DH and I are looking forward to making more of this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Hughes August 12, 2009

Love it!!! This was my first attempt to make apple sauce and it is so good!!!! I added 2 1/2 tbsps lemon juice to help keep the apples color.I didn't add spices or sugar. The flavor was great on it's own. I will be making some with cinnamon for baking. I followed the rest of the instructions exactly. What a wonderful way to use up my abundance of apples!!! I'll never buy apple sauce again. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jake ryley'smommy September 25, 2007

This is a super recipe I will use forever. I washed my apples well and cored them but didn't peal them. I had a large 12 QT soup pan with a heavy bottom full of apples. I added about 2" of organic apple juice. I cooked them all down for about 30 minutes on med/high. I use the grill spatula with a long handle to scrape the bottom and mix every 5-7 minutes. I then put them through a food mill sieve. I did add some sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg according to taste. They canned beautifully. So so good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pday564 October 18, 2013

I have canned applesuace for my family for years using this same simple recipe. I do add a little sugar only becasue I use tart Jonathan apples. Use a potato masher instead of a food processor......chunky applesauce is that way to go!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IowaCook'n September 19, 2013

This recipe was very good, i used apples from wild apple trees, just went by my judgement on the taste of how much sugar and cinnamon. I always start with a little,you can always add more. Consistency was perfect. If it seems like its going to be to thin then you can drain a little of the water out before blending the apples. This is a recipe you can adjust to the way you want it. This was actually the first time i made applesauce and seeing how easy it was and how good it turned out,I won't ever by store bought again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer C. September 17, 2013
Applesauce (For Canning)