Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Applesauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Applesauce

    Average Rating:

    152 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 152

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2009

      Thanks for posting. This is a terrific applesauce recipe. I quadrupled it for freezing. IK'm going to make more so I'll have some all winter. I used Paula Red Apples. It was rated 5 star by my one year old granddaughter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      This is WONDERFUL and so simple! My apple tree decided to be incredibly fruitful this year and this is where most of them are going! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      my kids are hooked. I started out with one batch...that was an hour ago and guess what? yep I just started the next batch...this is easy yummy and really just excellent...thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This is a wonderfully simple recipe for fresh applesauce! I used Ginger Gold apples at the suggestion of a friend, doubled the recipe (except the sugar, which I used less than 1/4 cup for a double recipe - apples were sweet enough!) I plan on making more and putting in freezer containers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      This is wonderful, my whole family loves it! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      Delicious. I added slightly less sugar and cinnamon AND nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Absolutely the best applesauce I have ever had in my life! I took WildFamily's advice and omitted the sugar, adding in a tsp of granulated fructose instead. Left it nice and chunky (the way applesauce is supposed to be) and served it as dessert. The only sounds I heard during dessert were mmm's, ahhh's, and the spoons clashing against the dishes, trying to scoop out the last bit. I'm off to pick up more apples now, as the requests for more are becoming incessant :) Thanks Rachel! It's ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      I went to my local grocery store and they didn't have applesauce (strange country I've moved to here), so I grabbed a bag of apples and came home and found this recipe. I used gala apples, which actually took about twice the time to cook. I also reduced the sugar by half, and it still turned out a little on the sweet side, but I know galas are very sweet apples. I made the mistake of not reading directions, and tossed all the ingredients together in a pot to start with rather than adding sugar and cinnamon after, but it didn't seem to affect it other than that I could have tasted it before adding sugar if I had waited. Regardless, I think it turned out very well, and I will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Perfectly simple and delicious recipe for applesauce. I used Macintosh apples and they only took 15-20 minutes to soften. I didn't even have to use the potato masher, just used a fork and the consistency was almost just like store bought. Followed the recipe exactly and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Super Easy and quick..... this is definately a keeper. I prefer a more mashed up version of applesauce, so once the apples had cooled I put them in the food processor (or blender would work too). I am not a huge fan of cinnamon in my applesauce so I just deleted it. We had a lot of apples left from yesterday's birthday party so I am making applesauce to share :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This is great and a keeper! I will probably never buy applesauce at the store again. I used 4 Gala apples that we had sitting (because our primary apple-eater is currently out of town). After reading other reviews, I decreased the sugar by a Tablespoon (so I just used 3 Tablespoons), and I used 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon apple pie spice for the spices. It also took my apples about 40 minutes to soften before I mashed them with a potato masher. This was my first time making homemade applesauce, and it was so easy. Thanks for sharing your father's recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

    • on March 13, 2009

      Loved this! Delicious! I used dark brown sugar instead of white. Rich flavor that allows the apples to completely shine through! Thank you for posting your Dad's applesauce recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Great recipe. I found some ripe apples in the sale bin, and I thought perfect for applesauce. I only used a tablespoon of sugar and it was perfect! Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Your Dad really knew his apples, Rachel! This is the way I have always made my applesauce, sometimes increasing the apple amount, adding just enough sugar to sweeten, water enough to cook the apples and toss in a couple of cinnamon sticks. It couldn't be easier. I whipped up a potful this morning planning to serve it with our crockpot pork chops for dinner tonight. But freshly made applesauce is so tasty, there may not be any left for dinner ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Excellent! I used half white sugar and half brown suger and it tasted wonderful! I halved this recipe with no problem. I will defiantly make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Delicious and easy!! I used Rome apples and next time I'll try Granny Smith. My daughter loves this recipe. I ran it thru the food processor to get all the lumps out which made it nice and smoothe...almost too smoothe! This would be a great recipe for those that make homemade baby food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Why did I think applesauce was going to be so hard to make??!! This was easy and turned out so great. I made this for an applesauce lover so I was hoping it would be a success. I didn't know if I was supposed to keep the lid on during the whole cooking time but I did and just took the lid off every few minutes and gave the apples a stir. Once they started getting real soft I used my wooden spoon and started mashing the apples. I didn't want it totally chunky but it turned out the perfect texture, just a little chunky. I used half cinnamon and half nutmeg. Good warm and great cold!! I used 5 granny smith apples and just a tad more water since I added the extra one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Perfect Applesauce. I needed applesauce for a Thanksgiving recipe and had tons of apples on hand. This turned out great, easy to make and excellent flavor. Thanks for posting this recipe Rachel I plan to make again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      My 7 yr old daughter now tells everyone that my home made applesauce is the best thing ~ever~! Thank you for posting this recipe and giving my daughter some bragging rights! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Sauces Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Applesauce

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 287.6
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    97%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.7 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 62.7 g
    251%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites