11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The recipe is fantastic. The flavor is hard to discribe. The first thing that hits you, is the pucker power of the lemons followed imediately by the sweetness and cinnamon. The hardest part is peeeling the apples. I hate peeling anything. We will be making more for our use and Christmas presents.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roger/OH September 05, 2003

Yummy. We added a little less sugar and the marmalade is less stiff but not so sweet. This would be great on ice cream as it tastes like apple pie filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soleil Luna November 17, 2008

This is really good I made two batches for Christmas gifts. The first batch I made as per directions and it came out really lemony, very good, but much more lemony than I expected. The lemon overpowered the apples. The second batch I got the tablespoon of lemon juice from the lemon I cut up, instead of in addtion to it. This batch definitely highlights both flavors very well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L-Do November 14, 2008

This is fantastic, delicious and easy to make, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samakroyd October 02, 2008

I made this recipe and it was good but the next time I make it, I plan a few changes. I will grind the lemon so that it is in smaller pieces and add it as the apples are cooking so that it isn't so hard. Also cut the apples in smaller pieces. Otherwise very good way to use up apples. We have a tree and I used windfalls for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eisy September 30, 2008

Very good and easy instructions. Thanks so much!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amaloney73 August 12, 2008

This was absolutely fantastic! We have a small apple orchard and try lots of different ways to preserve apples. The was by far the best one. Everytime I've served it I get rave reviews. Thanks for a real winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brighid July 13, 2008

I recently introduced my mum to this recipe and she loves it too! She has 3 apple trees and is contantly trying to come up with ways to use the apples come autumn - she doesn't like making chutney as it takes too long, this is perfect for her since you can make the whole thing in about an hour (including apple peeling time!) Brilliant!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White-seahorse October 03, 2006

Wow! What a wonderful taste! I was a little unsure but tried anyways. Gave out one jar in each of the homemade gift baskets last christmas. Great on taost. Also used to glaze a ham and pork chops, just wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CdnCulinaryQueen September 25, 2005
Apple Marmalade