Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Another Vegetarian Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Another Vegetarian Chili

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 15, 2011

      Great recipe, thank you for posting. I had to take pep-to bismol the second time I had it. I also added green pepper, red hot, and ate it with Fritos on top for some crunch. Colors were great together, and I have never had anything like this before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

    • on October 16, 2010

      This was excellent!!! Tons of veggies, not overly heavy and definitely satisfying. I did add a bit more chili powder, some cumin, and only used kidney beans as that was all I had soaking overnight. Next time I will use the black beans as well. I also had this simmering for a couple hours to get all the flavors moving. This will definitely be my go to chili recipe!! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Great recipe! Even the non-veggie family members enjoyed it. I made it exactly as written and it was a well received. Everyone did request that I put the zucchini in earlier next time. It was still too firm after 30 minutes and kind of stood out from the rest of the chili. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This was fantastic! Finally a vegetarian chili that we truly love! I omitted the jalapeno pepper and carrot and used kidney beans instead of pink. I also had to add some broth, because I cut down the recipe serving size to 2, so the veggies were getting pretty dried out during the cooking. In addition to the seasonings listed, I added some cayenne pepper (to make up for leaving out the jalapeno) and a dash of my favorite chili seasoning blend. It was great... spicy and flavorful! Served it over spaghetti with some sour cream and shredded 4-cheese blend on top. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I loved this recipe, but I made a bunch of changes to it. I omitted the jalapeno and used a can of green chilies instead. I used kidney beans, since I wasn't sure what pink beans were. I used a can of corn instead of fresh and a can of sliced carrots instead of fresh. I also omitted the zucchini, simply because I forgot it, lol. I threw everything in the crockpot and cooked on low for about 8 hours, and it was perfect. Added a little cheese on top to each serving, and we all loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      I don't want to give this chili its first mediocre review, but, honestly, my husband and I found it pretty bland, though we're not sure what it's missing. To flavor it more, we put in another 1/2 tsp of cumin, 2 tbl fresh cilantro, mushrooms, and sliced calamata olives. The olives were the biggest help, but nothing seemed to give it the "kick" we were looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      This was great chili! I love how healthy it is and it made the house smell SO good! It was very warming on a chilly evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      This is an AMAZING chili recipe!!! Actually I haven't tried the recipe exactly as written, but the version I came up with based on it I think is amazing! Like most people I used kidney beans and not pink beans. I used a green pepper and a red pepper. After step 1 I added a few tsp of white wine and let cook a bit longer. After step 6 I added about 1/4 of a cup of my favorite BBQ sauce which I think adds a lot to the chili, thikening it up a bit and giving it some extra flavor. After adding the beans, I mashed about half of them to make the overall texture of the chili more thick. I also can't stress enough how much cooking for a long time adds to the recipe, I usually let it cook for like 3 hours if possible. I still add the zucchini after 90 minutes, because I think I like the texture better when it softens more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      I don't think that I've ever heard of pink beans so I used what was in the cabinet. I added eggplant only because I had one, but wouldn't change a thing. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      So good, thank you toni for posting this one! I did omit the jalapeno pepper and used regular oregano. Had this chili over brown rice for a wonderful hearty meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      Great recipe...The fiber content is amazing!! I don't know what "pink beans" are, so I used light kidney beans. Also, since I don't like 'chunky' tomatoes, I used a can of crushed tomatoes...this made the chili a little to thick, and I had to add some water. It probably would have been wiser to use tomatoes as called for in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      I halved this recipe with no problem and it was delicious! Full of veggies, it hit the spot! I only used one can of bean-kidney. I didn't have zucchini, so used about 6 mushrooms, chopped up. I topped with sour cream. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Beans Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Another Vegetarian Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.5
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    13%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 260.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.1 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 15.4 g
    61%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites