13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe, thank you for posting. I had to take pep-to bismol the second time I had it. I also added green pepper, red hot, and ate it with Fritos on top for some crunch. Colors were great together, and I have never had anything like this before.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassidyondra December 15, 2011

This was excellent!!! Tons of veggies, not overly heavy and definitely satisfying. I did add a bit more chili powder, some cumin, and only used kidney beans as that was all I had soaking overnight. Next time I will use the black beans as well. I also had this simmering for a couple hours to get all the flavors moving. This will definitely be my go to chili recipe!! Thanks so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious October 16, 2010

Great recipe! Even the non-veggie family members enjoyed it. I made it exactly as written and it was a well received. Everyone did request that I put the zucchini in earlier next time. It was still too firm after 30 minutes and kind of stood out from the rest of the chili. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HollyGolightly January 24, 2009

This was fantastic! Finally a vegetarian chili that we truly love! I omitted the jalapeno pepper and carrot and used kidney beans instead of pink. I also had to add some broth, because I cut down the recipe serving size to 2, so the veggies were getting pretty dried out during the cooking. In addition to the seasonings listed, I added some cayenne pepper (to make up for leaving out the jalapeno) and a dash of my favorite chili seasoning blend. It was great... spicy and flavorful! Served it over spaghetti with some sour cream and shredded 4-cheese blend on top. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews January 12, 2009

I loved this recipe, but I made a bunch of changes to it. I omitted the jalapeno and used a can of green chilies instead. I used kidney beans, since I wasn't sure what pink beans were. I used a can of corn instead of fresh and a can of sliced carrots instead of fresh. I also omitted the zucchini, simply because I forgot it, lol. I threw everything in the crockpot and cooked on low for about 8 hours, and it was perfect. Added a little cheese on top to each serving, and we all loved it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Cook/Hate2Clean:) December 21, 2008

I don't want to give this chili its first mediocre review, but, honestly, my husband and I found it pretty bland, though we're not sure what it's missing. To flavor it more, we put in another 1/2 tsp of cumin, 2 tbl fresh cilantro, mushrooms, and sliced calamata olives. The olives were the biggest help, but nothing seemed to give it the "kick" we were looking for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kamark August 11, 2008

This was great chili! I love how healthy it is and it made the house smell SO good! It was very warming on a chilly evening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD November 18, 2006

This is an AMAZING chili recipe!!! Actually I haven't tried the recipe exactly as written, but the version I came up with based on it I think is amazing! Like most people I used kidney beans and not pink beans. I used a green pepper and a red pepper. After step 1 I added a few tsp of white wine and let cook a bit longer. After step 6 I added about 1/4 of a cup of my favorite BBQ sauce which I think adds a lot to the chili, thikening it up a bit and giving it some extra flavor. After adding the beans, I mashed about half of them to make the overall texture of the chili more thick. I also can't stress enough how much cooking for a long time adds to the recipe, I usually let it cook for like 3 hours if possible. I still add the zucchini after 90 minutes, because I think I like the texture better when it softens more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dujoducom September 29, 2006

I don't think that I've ever heard of pink beans so I used what was in the cabinet. I added eggplant only because I had one, but wouldn't change a thing. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jodsmi May 07, 2006
Another Vegetarian Chili