17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What wonderful soup--the flavor is awesome!! The first two times I made this, I made it exactly as written (except that I reduced the servings to 4; and cooked it in a pot on the stove--instead of in a crock pot). It was very good, but I felt it needed just a little something? So the third time I made it, I cooked the celery, carrot, and onion in a bit of olive oil before putting them together with everything else; and I used half water and half fat-free reduced-sodium chicken broth (2 cups of each). Those two changes really seemed to amplify the other great flavors already in the soup--and it turned out amazing. I love split pea soup and this is the BEST! Thanks so much for posting this recipe, OhMyStars!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
So Cal Gal April 11, 2010

Really good! Not the greatest split pea soup I've had, but good in its own right. I agree with the other reviewer that it is a bit bland, so next time, I will also saute the veggies (and add some garlic). I try not to add too much salt to the foods I cook, but this one needed a good heapful of salt & pepper. Thanks for posting, it was nice & easy to make and went over well in our house.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie421511 January 12, 2011

I've long been a fan of those windmills! Like the others here, I made some tweaks. LOTS of the seasonings mentioned, and also the juice of half a lemon pulled it together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geri by the Sea April 28, 2012

Thanks for the great recipe and thanks to the previous reviewers for their feedback. I followed the suggestions of So Cal Gal (April 11, 2010), cooking the veggies, (plus, a bit of garlic), and using some low-sodium chicken broth.... I also used Lawry's seasoning salt in place of table salt......It was just wonderful and filled the house with a fantastic aroma. Garnished it with a bit of chopped Black Forest Ham.....Delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliadjulie April 25, 2012

I have been making this soup for years after eating 8 bowls of it in one sitting at the Andersons in Buelton. It is the best. I do use ham hocks and I sometime add beef sausage that has been sauteed in butter along with the ham from the ham hocks. The aroma is so wonderful, my neighbors always know when I am making split pea soup. This also freezes well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bruce in Paradise, Ca. March 29, 2005

This is a great low calorie pea soup for when we don't want it with bacon or ham. I didn't puree it. The texture was perfect. I cooked it on low for 8 hours. Thanks OhMyStars :) Made for Cookbook tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 08, 2012

Yum! So easy to make in the crock pot--I think it took 5 minutes to throw everything together and when I got home from work, the house smelled divine! Served it with a mixed green salad (from a bag)--one of the easiest meals I've made in a long time. Took some of the leftovers to one of my coworkers who asked if it would be rude to lick the bowl. I'll be making this a lot (and sharing with my coworker, of course).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muppetcow September 15, 2011

This soup is awesome! It's a chilly January day, so I made up a huge pot of this soup and am enjoying it as I type. I didn't know what red pepper was, so I used Cayenne, which made it a little spicy and I used a little too much black pepper, but really, this soup is amazing. I boiled it for 20 minutes, then after about an hour, all of the ingredients were very tender. I blended the soup in 3 batches in the blender, only for a few seconds, which made it very creamy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camel_Cracker January 18, 2009
Andersen's Split Pea Soup (Crock Pot Version) Copycat