Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Andersen's Split Pea Soup (Crock Pot Version) Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Andersen's Split Pea Soup (Crock Pot Version) Copycat

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2010

      What wonderful soup--the flavor is awesome!! The first two times I made this, I made it exactly as written (except that I reduced the servings to 4; and cooked it in a pot on the stove--instead of in a crock pot). It was very good, but I felt it needed just a little something? So the third time I made it, I cooked the celery, carrot, and onion in a bit of olive oil before putting them together with everything else; and I used half water and half fat-free reduced-sodium chicken broth (2 cups of each). Those two changes really seemed to amplify the other great flavors already in the soup--and it turned out amazing. I love split pea soup and this is the BEST! Thanks so much for posting this recipe, OhMyStars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      Really good! Not the greatest split pea soup I've had, but good in its own right. I agree with the other reviewer that it is a bit bland, so next time, I will also saute the veggies (and add some garlic). I try not to add too much salt to the foods I cook, but this one needed a good heapful of salt & pepper. Thanks for posting, it was nice & easy to make and went over well in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      I've long been a fan of those windmills! Like the others here, I made some tweaks. LOTS of the seasonings mentioned, and also the juice of half a lemon pulled it together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2012

      Thanks for the great recipe and thanks to the previous reviewers for their feedback. I followed the suggestions of So Cal Gal (April 11, 2010), cooking the veggies, (plus, a bit of garlic), and using some low-sodium chicken broth.... I also used Lawry's seasoning salt in place of table salt......It was just wonderful and filled the house with a fantastic aroma. Garnished it with a bit of chopped Black Forest Ham.....Delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      I have been making this soup for years after eating 8 bowls of it in one sitting at the Andersons in Buelton. It is the best. I do use ham hocks and I sometime add beef sausage that has been sauteed in butter along with the ham from the ham hocks. The aroma is so wonderful, my neighbors always know when I am making split pea soup. This also freezes well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

    • on November 08, 2012

      This is a great low calorie pea soup for when we don't want it with bacon or ham. I didn't puree it. The texture was perfect. I cooked it on low for 8 hours. Thanks OhMyStars :) Made for Cookbook tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      Yum! So easy to make in the crock pot--I think it took 5 minutes to throw everything together and when I got home from work, the house smelled divine! Served it with a mixed green salad (from a bag)--one of the easiest meals I've made in a long time. Took some of the leftovers to one of my coworkers who asked if it would be rude to lick the bowl. I'll be making this a lot (and sharing with my coworker, of course).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

    • on January 18, 2009

      This soup is awesome! It's a chilly January day, so I made up a huge pot of this soup and am enjoying it as I type. I didn't know what red pepper was, so I used Cayenne, which made it a little spicy and I used a little too much black pepper, but really, this soup is amazing. I boiled it for 20 minutes, then after about an hour, all of the ingredients were very tender. I blended the soup in 3 batches in the blender, only for a few seconds, which made it very creamy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Delicious and easy to make - what more could you want? I used about half chicken broth and half water. Also used celery leaves instead of celery. I fished out the bay leaf and whirred it with my stick blender. The two of us finished off almost the entire pot! Oh, I garnished with big curls of Parmesan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      I can't wait till it's done. It smell just like the kitchen at Andersen's Pea Soup 376 Avenue of the Flags Buellton, California 93427 (805) 688-5581. There web address is http://www.peasoupandersens.net/ The only thing missing is the bacon bits, croutons, cheese, and the Onion Cheese Bread they give you when you eat there. They have All You Can Eat "Travler's Special". They also sell the sooo good bread in the bakery. Mmmmmm. Everone should stop by there at least once for the true taste experience. James A.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      If you live in California, any where in California, I am sure you have seen billboards for Anderson's. I have seen signs since I was 5 years old from the northern to the southern tip of the state. I have never eaten there and I love split pea soup. I have made this two times and my wife loves it, as do I. Thanks for the posting. I can't believe I am the first review on this. What are you waiting for zaar's, try this out!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      Enjoyed this very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

    • on October 21, 2005

      i was a little disappointed by the lack of flavor in this soup. however, with a boatload of salt and pepper added it is more to my liking. i will make this again- just with more spices. thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      Made this yesterday and added a little canadian back bacon to it, plus some rosemary. I also had about 1.5 cups of leftover mashed potato that I tossed in near the end, as well. My fiance and I both really liked it and I'm looking forward to having some leftovers for lunch, as I suspect it will taste even better. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Andersen's Split Pea Soup (Crock Pot Version) Copycat

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.0
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    13%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 23.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 13.1 g
    52%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites