Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Aloo Gobi - Cauliflower and Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aloo Gobi - Cauliflower and Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2008

      Wow!! This was amazing! I've been on an Indian food kick and this totally hit the spot. I didn't have fenugreek or fennel so I added a little extra curry powder. I ended up have quite a bit extra and it made great leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Been making this for a year now and this is the best recipe for Aloo Gobi. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      Thanks so much for this recipe - it is a firm favorite at our house. Last time I made it, I gave the diced potatoes a quick blast in the microwave (1or 2 minutes), dried them off slightly, then added them to the rest of the ingredients as usual. I found this reduced the cooking time required considerably. I have always made the recipe exactly as written but will now try including some other (green) veg as it seems such a versatile and flexible dish. Thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      added carrots and peas(frozen at the last minute). extra water and doubled the spices. Yummy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      This recipe was really delicious and easy to make. In fact, I thought it was even better the next day when I reheated the leftovers for lunch. I shared some with a friend and she asked for the recipe. My cauliflower was huge, so I ended up doubling all the spices and oil to accommodate it. I used a half cup of water, based on other reviewer's comments, but I think 1/4 would have been fine for us. I used red potatoes, and am intrigued by the prospect of using sweet potatoes, as other reviewers have suggested. I served the cauliflower as a side to Broiled Indian Spiced Fish 158344. Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      YUM!! This is the only recipe I use for Aloo Gobi now and I make it exactly as written- wouldn't change a thing. In fact, I think I will make it again tonight. Thanks for posting. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      This was so good ... so far beyond my expectations, I was thrilled. Better than any aloo gobi I've had in a restaurant. (To be honest, I've never liked aloo gobi in restaurants, but I wanted to do something different with cauliflower tonight, so gave it a shot.) I couldn't get whole fenugreek seeds, and so used Penzey's powdered fenugreek. And I agree with everything I've seen on the web -- there's no substitute for fenugreek, you just have to use it. I will make this again, and again ... thanks so very much for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      Excellent side dish to chicken vindaloo (Chicken Vindaloo) Served with rice and pappadums. Nice kick to it, made half a recipe and still have leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      I added some jalepeno and curry for a little more of a spicy kick. This was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      A keeper! We loved this recipe! Sometimes it is hard to find easy at home recipes for Indian food but this one definitely fit the bill! The only change I made was to use ground cumin and crushed red pepper as substitutions. I'd like to try adding carrots and peas as others have done. As it was I thought it was an incredibly flavorful and healthy dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

    • on February 28, 2012

      Great recipe - the right balance of multiple ingredients and complexity. This version is drier than some of the ones I get from local restaurants (So. Cal.) This is OK since that complements the wetter curries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

    • on July 13, 2011

      I liked this. Had never tried it before and always wanted to. I think in the future though I will use powdered spice or blend the fennel and cumin. I didn't like getting hit with the spice all at once. Also I skipped the masala spice because I was already happy with the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      This was so tasty and delicious! It was also easy, so I'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

    • on December 28, 2008

      Very good and easy to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      WOW!!! This was AMAZING!! Soooo good. Definitely a favorite, definitely will make it again. (Although I needed to move it to a big pot as my pan was too small, and next time we'll add more water for more liquid.) We may bring it to a potluck sometime too - unless we decide to keep it all for ourselves! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This was good, but I had to cook it longer than the recipe stated in order for the vegies to get tender. I would have like a bit more sauce. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Absolutely wonderful dish! I have made this several times and it always turns out perfectly. If you have the time, you may want to let the dish stew a little longer, but it is fabulous either way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aloo Gobi - Cauliflower and Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.5
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    28%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 630.2 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites