36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks so much for this recipe - it is a firm favorite at our house. Last time I made it, I gave the diced potatoes a quick blast in the microwave (1or 2 minutes), dried them off slightly, then added them to the rest of the ingredients as usual. I found this reduced the cooking time required considerably. I have always made the recipe exactly as written but will now try including some other (green) veg as it seems such a versatile and flexible dish. Thanks again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Birtle Dene August 18, 2011

added carrots and peas(frozen at the last minute). extra water and doubled the spices. Yummy!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Grant February 24, 2010

Wow!! This was amazing! I've been on an Indian food kick and this totally hit the spot. I didn't have fenugreek or fennel so I added a little extra curry powder. I ended up have quite a bit extra and it made great leftovers.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandanagans November 12, 2008

Been making this for a year now and this is the best recipe for Aloo Gobi. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YaminahOKC December 18, 2011

This recipe was really delicious and easy to make. In fact, I thought it was even better the next day when I reheated the leftovers for lunch. I shared some with a friend and she asked for the recipe. My cauliflower was huge, so I ended up doubling all the spices and oil to accommodate it. I used a half cup of water, based on other reviewer's comments, but I think 1/4 would have been fine for us. I used red potatoes, and am intrigued by the prospect of using sweet potatoes, as other reviewers have suggested. I served the cauliflower as a side to Broiled Indian Spiced Fish 158344. Thanks for a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny January 15, 2010

YUM!! This is the only recipe I use for Aloo Gobi now and I make it exactly as written- wouldn't change a thing. In fact, I think I will make it again tonight. Thanks for posting. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newfiechic November 22, 2008

This was so good ... so far beyond my expectations, I was thrilled. Better than any aloo gobi I've had in a restaurant. (To be honest, I've never liked aloo gobi in restaurants, but I wanted to do something different with cauliflower tonight, so gave it a shot.) I couldn't get whole fenugreek seeds, and so used Penzey's powdered fenugreek. And I agree with everything I've seen on the web -- there's no substitute for fenugreek, you just have to use it. I will make this again, and again ... thanks so very much for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts April 15, 2008

Wow! I didn't expect much from this dish. Even while I was cooking it I was skeptical. But it was incredible. New family favorite. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sn00zer March 27, 2015

Excellent side dish to chicken vindaloo (Chicken Vindaloo) Served with rice and pappadums. Nice kick to it, made half a recipe and still have leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound January 24, 2014

I added some jalepeno and curry for a little more of a spicy kick. This was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hoosierterp January 28, 2013
Aloo Gobi - Cauliflower and Potatoes