Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Almost Fried Plantains - Virtually Fat Free Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almost Fried Plantains - Virtually Fat Free

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2011

      I have made this recipe even skipping the step of spraying the tops with cooking spray, which I don't really like. It worked fine in a heavy non-stick pan, even with very, very ripe platanos. Thanks for the awesome technique. My Cuban husband heartily approves!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      mmmmmmm. they were so yummy and a great healthy alternative to frying in oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      I love plantains, but they can be hell on your waistline if you aren't careful. That's why I was so happy to find this low-fat way to prepare my beloved black bananas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      Most delicious! I am a WW I have made these several times and still want to eat it all when I do! Without the guilt or extra calories :D Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      These came out delicious! I had never made plantains before. On my first batch, I learned that the yellow and green plantains are not sweet and not good for this dish; but the yellow plantains with lots of dark spots (like Toni said) are perfect. When ripe, these taste similar to regular bananas, but starchy. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      We thought it was cool how they kind of "puffed up" from cooking. They got thicker! (Yes, we are easily amused). Good flavor and I like the nut. info on this one! Made for ZWT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      So easy to do with hardly any oil! I liked the way they got fairly crispy and I nibbled as a snack. Thanks Toni! Made for ZWT4-Fancy Feinschmeckers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I love that these are virtually fat free! They made a nice side dish for my South American dinner tonight! I didn't have a non-stick pan so I just sprayed my pan with non-stick cooking spray before addding the plantains. Thanks Toni! Made for ZWT 4 by a Jefe de la Cocina!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      AWESOME! My boyfriend is cuban and he gobbled these right up. He told me they were better than his mom's!! Since they are easier and lighter than the traditional method, I now make these when ever i get a chance. BTW, non-stick spray is safe to use in this method. non-stick spray is simply a vegitible or canola oil and won't hurt you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      This is a great way to have guilt free comfort food. I had been served fried plantains for the first time a few years back in the home of a Caribbean family and really enjoyed them but was really unsure of how to prepare them myself. Now I know and it is in a healthy way too! Made for PAC Spring 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      thank you so much for this recipe!! I love sweet plantain, I live in the Caribbean and I used to have sweet plantain for dinner almost every night! but now that I'm changing my eating habits and am currently dieting, this could come in handy whenever I have my sweet plantain cravings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      This is a great technique! I love plantains, but hate the fact that they're fried - this is a great alternative. I just had one major problem - I couldn't stop eating them while they were cooking =) Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      A great treat that everyone enjoyed! I can't add anything that the other reviewers haven't said. Very tasty and very easy. Reviewed for ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Nice for something different. A good side for any type of tropical or Caribbean-type dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      Satisfied my craving without costing me the calories. They were perfectly crispy on the outside and soft inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      These definately satisfied our craving! I see no need for the deep fried type any longer! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      I love fried plantains, and this way they are so much better for you! We noticed they didn't stick to the pan (even non-stick) if we put the water first- just eyeball the amount. Also, a bit of veggie oil brushed on them before flipping worked much better than cooking spray (which aren't you not supposed to use that in non-stick anyway?). And that way, you can just flip them more if you need to get them a bit firmer or crisper without worry of them sticking more or breaking. Great and easy way to do plantains! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      I think I cut my plantain too thin because they never crisped up and stayed soft. However, the sweet taste was still there. Thanks for an easy recipe! Made for ZWT2!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

    • on March 20, 2006

      YUM! I just recently discovered plantains bc of RSC 8 and I just adored this recipe! Totally awesome! #7- I was gobbling them up as soon as they were cool enough to not cause 3rd degree burns to my hands and mouth! lol Thanks for sharing this fantabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almost Fried Plantains - Virtually Fat Free

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 109.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    72%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites