19 Reviews

Another fabulous recipe, Sue! These went together so quickly! About 10 minutes to peel and slice the potatoes. I did add extra cayenne and cumin (personal preference). The hint of cinnamon really gave the fries great flavor! I didn't turn them in the oven (too lazy ;)), and it didn't seem to make too much of a difference. Thanks for an easy, delicious side, Sue! I love your recipes!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl January 16, 2003

Delicious and different. We like really spicy food, so next time I will double the cayenne..or maybe even double the amounts of spices to the potatoes. I cut the potato's into french fries and baked as suggested. They smelled heavenly when baking. Thanks for a easy, delicious dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L. Duch March 01, 2006

These were great! I also doubled the spices/oil mix since when I threw everything together in the plastic bag it hardly seemed like enough to completely coat the potatoes. I also sliced the potatoes into fries, and served them alongside chickpea shwarma sandwiches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain January 30, 2014

3 1/2 stars. I left out the fenugreek as I didn't have any. Used garlic salt for the garlic powder and no additional salt. I didn't find they browned very well so I left them some more time in a lower oven temperature. I did add a couple pinches cayenne. Didn't find them very flavourful. I won't make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 09, 2010

I did these with small red potatoes (think I used 9) without the cayenne, and both my husband and I really enjoyed them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cjl0601 March 31, 2010

I had six medium-small potatoes. I made four times the amount of the lemon-oil-spice mixture just to make sure that all of the pieces got coated very well. I did have a lot of the lemon-oil-spice mixture left over but I am glad that all of the potatoes got coated well. I also kept the pieces in the oven until they were crispy enough for me. I was not keeping track of time so I don't know how long that was. These turned out to be very good. I could not stop eating them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan from Chicago January 11, 2009

I'm sorry, but this flavor was not for us. I probably wont be making these again, but they did bake up nice and crisp, so I'm giving it 3 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour December 09, 2008

Yummy! The cinnamon was a great unexpected flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mishka 711 August 08, 2008

We didn't really care for these potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh April 27, 2008

I was pretty weary when I saw a recipe containing potatoes and cinnamon. I am not a fan of sweet things, so I wasn't sure.... but these ended up really good! I did use the cayenne pepper (a little more than 1/4 teaspoon - I like it spicy). Hubby and I enjoyed very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC August 03, 2007
Ali Baba's Oven Fries