Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Ali Baba's Oven Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ali Baba's Oven Fries

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2003

      Another fabulous recipe, Sue! These went together so quickly! About 10 minutes to peel and slice the potatoes. I did add extra cayenne and cumin (personal preference). The hint of cinnamon really gave the fries great flavor! I didn't turn them in the oven (too lazy ;)), and it didn't seem to make too much of a difference. Thanks for an easy, delicious side, Sue! I love your recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      Delicious and different. We like really spicy food, so next time I will double the cayenne..or maybe even double the amounts of spices to the potatoes. I cut the potato's into french fries and baked as suggested. They smelled heavenly when baking. Thanks for a easy, delicious dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      These were great! I also doubled the spices/oil mix since when I threw everything together in the plastic bag it hardly seemed like enough to completely coat the potatoes. I also sliced the potatoes into fries, and served them alongside chickpea shwarma sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      3 1/2 stars. I left out the fenugreek as I didn't have any. Used garlic salt for the garlic powder and no additional salt. I didn't find they browned very well so I left them some more time in a lower oven temperature. I did add a couple pinches cayenne. Didn't find them very flavourful. I won't make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      I did these with small red potatoes (think I used 9) without the cayenne, and both my husband and I really enjoyed them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I had six medium-small potatoes. I made four times the amount of the lemon-oil-spice mixture just to make sure that all of the pieces got coated very well. I did have a lot of the lemon-oil-spice mixture left over but I am glad that all of the potatoes got coated well. I also kept the pieces in the oven until they were crispy enough for me. I was not keeping track of time so I don't know how long that was. These turned out to be very good. I could not stop eating them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      I'm sorry, but this flavor was not for us. I probably wont be making these again, but they did bake up nice and crisp, so I'm giving it 3 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Yummy! The cinnamon was a great unexpected flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      We didn't really care for these potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      I was pretty weary when I saw a recipe containing potatoes and cinnamon. I am not a fan of sweet things, so I wasn't sure.... but these ended up really good! I did use the cayenne pepper (a little more than 1/4 teaspoon - I like it spicy). Hubby and I enjoyed very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      love, love, love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      Wonderful, fast, and easy to make. I always have everything on hand for these. Everyone loves them and they are requested a lot in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2005

      Loved this!!!! I am a spicy heat freak so I added more of the cayenne pepper and it was too much. Next time (and there will be several next times) I will stick with the recipe!! Thanks Sue for a great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2004

      As you can see from the picture I used small nugget potatoes cut in half and they were wonderful. Interesting blend of spices that gives the potatoes a spicy flavor but not too hot I used the cayenne and still not too hot. I fipped them once and placed them 6" from the broiler for the last 5 minutes - But I watched them . Will be making these again Sue Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2004

      A great potato recipe. I didn't bother peeling the potatoes, and it came out great. (Once you toss it with the spices don't leave it in the bag for too long. Place it in the oven right away.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      Sue, using this recipe was the first time I made oven fries that my bf loved! we loved the spiciness in these. I made them to accompany falafel and hummus sandwiches and it was the perfect side dish. thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2004

      I love "fries" that aren't deep fried. I wedged the potato rather than cut them into french fry shape. Easy and quick and good. What else can you ask for? Thanks Sue L.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      Cinnamon on fries!? Yep. Tastes great, especially with the optional cayenne. Very easy and quick to put together and the baking time was right on. I peeled the potatoes, but next time I think I'll try it with the skins on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      These fries were a huge hit! DH and the kids loved them. They were simple to prepare and the flavor was wonderful. I added extra cumin, garlic and cayenne pepper. I was a little skeptical about the cinnamon but it added a dimension to the flavor of the fries. Thanks Sue, this recipe's a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ali Baba's Oven Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (296 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.8
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    16%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 608.6 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 9.9 g
    39%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes