Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / African Potato and Collard Green Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    African Potato and Collard Green Stew

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2013

      Nice flavor! Very warming. I needed to add a bit more liquid so I could get all my veggies submerged. Next time I'll throw the collards in a little bit after the other veggies. They were definitely done before the sweet potatoes were tender enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      This was a really nice recipe - loved the different flavors that came out. It does have a lot of ingredients and it makes a large serving. Will try it with a few less items next time around. Made for ZWT 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      This was good. I, too, had no cauliflower so I added some yellow pepper. Skipped the raisins because my son won't eat them but I think it might have given it an interesting extra dimension. Also used broth instead of water as suggested by others. Mine was not thick, I may reduce the broth next time or increase the veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Very good...I had no cauliflower so used a red pepper and a couple more handfuls of collards. Also a teaspoon of veggie bouillon. Everyone said it was a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      We really liked this. Everything went well together and it had great flavor. We used less salt, broth instead of water, more greens, and omitted the raisins (personal preference). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

    • on November 03, 2008

      This is so nice and warm! Its thick and so comforting. It lacked a little spice for me but a little pepper fixed that right up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      This was a very hearty stew, perfect for the middle of winter. It's also great to be able to cook vegetarian food and not have anyone complain about the lack of meat. We ummhed and ahhed about the raisins, I didn't like the flavour they added and I think I would just leave them out next time (but that is purely a personal thing). This is a great way to use up small amounts of veges that can't made a side dish on their own. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      This stew was absolutely delicious. I only gave it four stars because I did not have poppy seed and coriander on hand. My husband is a vegetarian and I am always looking for new ways to cook vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      This recipe calls to mind southern soul food. Definitely a stick to your ribs stew and I made it a one dish meal by adding in some diced ham. It was just a bit too hearty for the hot summertime, but it's going to be a great recipe to have on hand this winter. Crackling Bread was absolutly perfect served with this stew. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for African Potato and Collard Green Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (444 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.6
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    17%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 655.6 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites