17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe using oranges, lemons, grapefruit, and tangerines. I followed the instructions exactly and the marmalade was done in 30 minutes. I cooked the recipe over medium heat to begin with and then had to reduce it to medium low and it kept boiling well. I had to fish out seeds, so I would recommend taking them out before processing the fruit. The taste was quite bitter or tart. Not the flavor I was hoping for.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amesandfires December 18, 2003

This is really yummy! I halved the recipe, used oranges and made it today afternoon. It still makes a real good quantity. I'm going to give away some on the upcoming festival of Ganesh Chathurthi. The tough part of this is the chopping up of really small pieces of the whole oranges. Since I don't have a food processor, I had to do it with a blender. That took me a whole hour! LOL. I was so eager to taste this even before putting it to boil, that I couldn't help myself and did taste a bit. It was DELICIOUS and a real mood lifter! Thank "YOU" so much for a wonderful marmalade recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani August 28, 2003

This recipe works well but the key is getting the pieces really small. The skin can make the marmalad a bit tart but it also gives more depth of flavour. I made this using grapefruit, mandarin and lime and the marmalade has already been attacked despire only making it this morning. It also works well on the jam setting of a bread machine although the amount is a bit less.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat June 09, 2003

Excellent recipe. I'm always busy so this recipe suits me perfectly. The marmalade tastes delicious and the six jars I made are already eaten/given away. I did have to use a blender as my food processor has broken but it worked perfectly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bxmomma July 21, 2009

I figured now that I've made 7 or 8 batches, I ought to finally review it :) This really is fail-proof, and whoa is it easy! I enjoy more whole pieces of rind in my marmalade, so I zest some of the citrus (usually 1-2 fruits worth) straight into the pot and then process the rest of the fruit through the processor. A friend had given me a ton of grapefruit so that's what I used the first time, with 2 blood oranges mixed in. WOW! Delicious taste, perfect consistency, and a beautiful color. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dripdripsplat June 23, 2009

Holy moly, that was fast! It really is the easiest marmalade ever. I zested and peeled half the oranges before putting them in the blender and left the other half whole. Absolutely perfect flavor, with just the right amount of bitterness to offset the sweet. I also used half Splenda to make it a bit lower in calories, and it still came out excellent. Thanks a bunch, Mirj!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin R. December 07, 2008

This marmalade is perfect and easy. It was just what I was hoping for. I am a marmalade snob and have a hard time finding ones I like and when I do they are outrageously priced. I am very, very happy right now.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sailfish22 December 04, 2008

I made a marmarlade like this last year and gave if to friends, if has a great flavour and a really firm consistancy - everyone loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathy.hanson September 07, 2008

So Easy! I used 3 Meyer Lemons and a half kg of sugar. Threw all in the Vitamix, pureed, and then boiled as instructed. Fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lenore Y. January 18, 2015

Hi, I have now made two batches, one where I added the some water and the 2nd batch I didn't add any. The 2nd batch was really really thick. My dear husband says that although it was really thick and difficult to spread on his toast, it was very tasty. I also added some whiskey in the first batch.
I must agree with everyone that this is the easiest marmalade I have ever made and will certainly be doing it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
24PhilippaD February 17, 2013
Absolutely Fail-Proof Easy Marmalade