Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Absolutely Fail-Proof Easy Marmalade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Absolutely Fail-Proof Easy Marmalade

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2003

      I made this recipe using oranges, lemons, grapefruit, and tangerines. I followed the instructions exactly and the marmalade was done in 30 minutes. I cooked the recipe over medium heat to begin with and then had to reduce it to medium low and it kept boiling well. I had to fish out seeds, so I would recommend taking them out before processing the fruit. The taste was quite bitter or tart. Not the flavor I was hoping for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2003

      This is really yummy! I halved the recipe, used oranges and made it today afternoon. It still makes a real good quantity. I'm going to give away some on the upcoming festival of Ganesh Chathurthi. The tough part of this is the chopping up of really small pieces of the whole oranges. Since I don't have a food processor, I had to do it with a blender. That took me a whole hour! LOL. I was so eager to taste this even before putting it to boil, that I couldn't help myself and did taste a bit. It was DELICIOUS and a real mood lifter! Thank "YOU" so much for a wonderful marmalade recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      This recipe works well but the key is getting the pieces really small. The skin can make the marmalad a bit tart but it also gives more depth of flavour. I made this using grapefruit, mandarin and lime and the marmalade has already been attacked despire only making it this morning. It also works well on the jam setting of a bread machine although the amount is a bit less.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I'm always busy so this recipe suits me perfectly. The marmalade tastes delicious and the six jars I made are already eaten/given away. I did have to use a blender as my food processor has broken but it worked perfectly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      I figured now that I've made 7 or 8 batches, I ought to finally review it :) This really is fail-proof, and whoa is it easy! I enjoy more whole pieces of rind in my marmalade, so I zest some of the citrus (usually 1-2 fruits worth) straight into the pot and then process the rest of the fruit through the processor. A friend had given me a ton of grapefruit so that's what I used the first time, with 2 blood oranges mixed in. WOW! Delicious taste, perfect consistency, and a beautiful color. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Holy moly, that was fast! It really is the easiest marmalade ever. I zested and peeled half the oranges before putting them in the blender and left the other half whole. Absolutely perfect flavor, with just the right amount of bitterness to offset the sweet. I also used half Splenda to make it a bit lower in calories, and it still came out excellent. Thanks a bunch, Mirj!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This marmalade is perfect and easy. It was just what I was hoping for. I am a marmalade snob and have a hard time finding ones I like and when I do they are outrageously priced. I am very, very happy right now.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      I made a marmarlade like this last year and gave if to friends, if has a great flavour and a really firm consistancy - everyone loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      Hi, I have now made two batches, one where I added the some water and the 2nd batch I didn't add any. The 2nd batch was really really thick. My dear husband says that although it was really thick and difficult to spread on his toast, it was very tasty. I also added some whiskey in the first batch.
      I must agree with everyone that this is the easiest marmalade I have ever made and will certainly be doing it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      Amazing..I used to spend hours making marmalade. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      Having struggled with different marmalade recipes for years I searched on the internet for a fool proof recipe. This one came out on top and I have just made 2 different batches. One orange and lemon and the other grapefruit and orange in less than an hour. It's delicious and the best recipe around. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      I made a half batch with 3 good size grapefruit and I used half Splenda/half sugar. Like the other reviewers who found it too bitter, mine tasted like I was chewing on rind. I would peel some of the grapefruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This is a brilliant recipe! I used 6 oranges and squeezed in a lemon too. Instead of using a food processor, I thinly sliced the oranges and then cut them in quarters, a bit tedious doing by hand but worth it! The Marmalade had the right amount of sweetness/bitterness to it. We loved it! Thank you so much, Mirj, for sharing this wonderful recipe, this one is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I used mandarin oranges, half peeled, half unpeeled and half splenda. It all worked very nicely. I love that you don't have to can it. Now I'll be using this to make Tropical Sunrise Porridge (Oatmeal), which is my fave breakfast these days.Thank you for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Wonderful! I loved it. I think I would use a little less of the orange peel next time--instead of 6 oranges with peel, I would use 6 oranges and peel 3 of them. Just my taste. Nice consistancy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      So easy, so yummy. My husband (who is a bit of a marmalade snob) was sniffing about while i was making it and was the first to try it. He was most impressed. I used 2 of each fruit. Really nice. Thank you for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Absolutely Fail-Proof Easy Marmalade

    Serving Size: 1 (1786 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 847.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    16%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 218.4 g
    72%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 214.3 g
    857%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites