12 Reviews

So good!! I tried these because of Marg's photo and review. Why have I never thought of using the microwave first and then the oven?? I have always wanted that salty, crunchy skin but didn't want to wait an hour or more for oven potatoes. I'm using this method from now on. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer March 24, 2010

This was a great way to get a perfect baked potato in a short amount of time! My only problem was 8 minutes in the microwave was waaaaay too long for my potato. The first one was so shriveled up, I had to throw it away. For the second one, I used the automatic baked potato setting & it only took about 4 minutes for it to be done. So make sure you check your potato early! Since I was also making Roasted Asparagus to go with our steaks, only having the oven on for 15 minutes worked really well. I loved how crisp the skin got because of the oil. In fact, once I was getting full, I scraped the rest of the potato out so I could finish eating the skin instead. It was excellent! I'll use this method often. UPDATE: This method also works well on the grill. I put my potato just at the edge of the coals and turned it halfway through and it turned out lovely!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) April 15, 2010

Oh gosh what a great way to have baked potatoes and so easily. After microwaving mine, I brushed with the oil and lightly sprinkled with Kosher Salt and fresh black pepper. Excellent. Thanks for sharing. Made for cookbook tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ January 20, 2012

I've been using this method for many years. I do add onion powder, cracked black pepper and onion salt to the skin. This is a great recipe if your main dish needs to bake for 30 minutes or so. You can just microwave the potatoes for a bit less time and then toss in the oven with your main dish. I just toss mine right on the rack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! March 29, 2010

Hmmm. . . I thought I was the only one who knew this sneaky little secret, been doing this for years! I just nuke the potatoes about halfway (I don't even use the paper towel) then oil or butter the skin. Sprinkle with Montreal steak seasoning if you like it. Finish in the oven. Or if there is a REAL time crunch, nuke to almost done and then continue as above. Thanks for posting; I guess everybody should know this method . . . . Janet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski March 28, 2010

I have made my potatoes like this for years. But I don't brush them with olive oil, I just pop them in some aluminum foil and stick in the oven while I'm grilling the steaks or fixing whatever needs to be fixed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vcanfield August 01, 2008

I was getting ready to post a review for this recipe, which by the way I've used for the last two evenings. And noticed I'd been skipping a step!! LOL!! So I can safely say, IF you want to pass the "brush with olive oil" step, they will still turn out light, fluffy and wonderful. i don't know if it makes a difference but I used Russets. And I will tell you without a doubt I will never back a potato any other way again. Except, I might try the "brush with olive oil step". LOL!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'm a Baker/P.N.Baker March 14, 2008

These turned out great. Great way to cut the cooking time. You can also do them in the microwave entirely and they are pretty good that way as well. But I thought this method taste better than simply microwaving. Thanks for the recipe, will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathryn29 September 18, 2007

This worked out beautifully. I almost never have baked potatoes because they take so long to bake. But this was lovely. I did three potatoes and then we had a baked potato bar for lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit June 27, 2007

I was very impressed with this. I put 3 potatoes in the microwave for about 10 minutes, then brushed on some oil with garlic powder, wrapped them in foil, and put them in the oven at 400 for 20 minutes. The inside was soft and moist, but the skin was a little chewy. Topped with chili, cheese, sour cream, and broccoli. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystal W September 26, 2006
30 Minute Baked Potato